Sevens and Up

Hey, look at that, I’ve been tagged again for the Lucky 7s, this time by Gabriellan, who you should definitely check out if you haven’t already.  It actually works out because, due to revisions, what’s on page 77 of Bound has changed.  No, I didn’t rewrite the section I posted last time, it just got pushed down by parts I did rewrite.  I’m going to cheat again (because I’m like that and it’s my blog).  This excerpt, like the last one, starts on page 77.  I’m not counting down to line 7 though, and I’m going to include the entire exchange. This is actually part of the rewrites.

*     *     *

The moment her eyes closed, the dream claimed her. The blonde man was watching her again, his smile broader than before, triumphant. He came to her almost immediately. When he put his hands on her waist though, she saw a minute change in his expression, a touch of confusion, there and gone so fast that she wasn’t sure what it meant.

“At last, so close, Faylanna.”

“Why do you know my name and I don’t know yours?” She was startled by the sound of her own voice. She’d never spoken in one of these dreams before. She’d always been sure that she couldn’t, or that he wouldn’t be able to hear her.

“Does it matter,” he asked as he pulled her closer, inhaling deeply as his arms encircled her. “I know you. After all these years, does it matter how, or why you know me?”

She looked up into his eyes, surprised. He’d heard her and spoken, responding to her question, though not with an answer she understood. Thinking back, she had only ever heard him speak once, in the last dream of him she could remember.

“It’s almost time, Faylanna. Will you be there, when the time comes?” His expression had become troubled. “I’ve waited so long, watching. I need you.”

“Why? What time? I don’t understand.”

He kissed her forehead, then lay his own against it. “It doesn’t matter, just be ready. I can’t let you go, not after so long. He can’t have you. We belong together, Faylanna.”

“Who can’t have me? What are you talking about?”

His smile was full of satisfaction. “Yes, keep thinking that way. There can be only you and I, my sweet. Never forget that, even if all else fades.”

Everything around her was growing dark and she could feel herself drifting into a deeper sleep, but his words seemed to echo around her.

*     *     *

So, there you have it, my new page 77 (into 78).

I’m not tagging anyone this time for 2 reasons. 1) everyone I know seems to have been tagged already and 2) I did that last time.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sevens and Up

  1. LOL you can tag me. xD (Now I’m curious to see what my page 77 line 7 looks like…)

    Excellent job, by the way! This one snippet makes me wonder what the rest of the story is like, I would definetly read on, if for no other reason than to find out who the mystery man is!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! And consider yourself tagged. It is a fun exercise. I’m just hoping I don’t get tagged a third time for this, as book 2, Possession, isn’t ready for this. At least I don’t think it is. I haven’t opened that one really in about a month, so I can’t say for sure. No, that is not an invitation, to anyone who might try to read it that way.

  2. 4amWriter says:

    Luv the excerpt. Luv mystery men!

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

