The Rhythm Continues

You know, I think I did pretty well, giving myself all of yesterday morning off before diving into the edits for Bound. The fact that I consider that doing well makes me fear I’m becoming a workaholic with my writing, but as long as the amount of time I’m spending working doesn’t bother me, I may still be on the right side of that line.  Of course, I may have a slightly skewed perspective too.  It’s hard to tell.

What I’d really like to know is how, as I go through like my 4th pass of editing, I can still find a bloody typo.  Seriously.  what the hell?  Oh well, so far it’s only one and I did manage to get through four chapters yesterday, though I’ll be back at one of them as I get started this morning.  I wasn’t quite happy with it, but it was after 11pm and my brain was begging for mercy.  I called it a night, knowing that I was far from being at my best by that point anyway.

I’m really thinking that end of summer publication (or sooner) might be within my grasp.  That, of course, means that I have to get my ass in gear on a cover.  Despite previous statements of near-certainty, I’m still circling on that one.  There are some really good options out there, many of which are reasonably priced, though the services included vary.  I need to actually finalize some decisions before I start contacting people, like whether I want to actually have a print version available.  I’m semi-inclined to not go that route, but part of me worries that I’ll miss some people, even though my more rational side points out that it’s not like I’m going to be on the shelf at my local book store, let alone Chapters-Indigo.  I’m really not sure who I’d be doing a print version for if I decided on that.  Maybe I’ll do a poll on that before I make a final decision.  I don’t know.  Look forward to more of me doing this until I actually do it and set things in motion.  I have a feeling that whatever I decide on the print/no-print front is what I’ll end up sticking with for a while in my career, because that’s just how I do things.  I tend to let a decision stand once I make it.  It’s the mental work of making it before I feel like it’s the appropriate time to do so that’s terribly circular/chaotic.

The idea I had the other day with the really insistent lady refuses to stop haunting me, even as I’m trying to think about Devan and Necromantic.  It’s even got a working title now, Spire of Time. At least she finally consented to tell me her name. Reah. And boy, I think she’s in for some serious adventures.  Some of the stuff I’m making notes on for this, well, let’s just say that it’s pretty cool.  That said, I’m really looking forward to turning my full attention over to Necromantic, because I really love some of what I’ve got going on there.  Once I’ve done a round of edits on the Mirrors books, then I can do that.  I need more hours and more grey matter.  Never enough of me to go around it seems.

I’m almost done my coffee and it’s Sunday, so that means it’s time to start the laundry and the edits again.  Ah the rhythms of my writing life.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Rhythm Continues

  1. ahamin says:

    I Admire what you’re doing… and the Necromantic thing you are leaning too sounds interesting… its always good to have a peek inside an author or editor’s mind once in a while through blogs… gotta love the digital world 🙂

  2. maggsworld says:

    Sounds exciting…I am almost chomping at the bit await9ng my copy. I am a book person – and have been all of my life. I can pass a clothing/shoes sale, but never NEVER a book sale…. and yet, even being a book person, since I received my iPad, everything I read is now digital… Does that help with the physical copy question??

    • Julie says:

      Sort of. I’m much the same. I’ve been a book person my whole life. I have a couple that are my third copy as I’ve read them to rags. You can’t get me to go clothes shopping, but turfing me out of a bookstore? Good luck with that. However, since I got my Kobo for Christmas last year, I pick up ebooks, and of course, I can read those on my iPad too if I want.

      I suppose I’m mostly trying to get a feel for whether the lack of a print edition will leave out people who genuinely want to read the books, since I know they won’t be discovering me by accident on the shelf at a bookstore.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

