The Characters In My Head Are Restless

Well, the week didn’t start out well at work, but this latter half is improving so I’ll try not to complain too much.  Today started out far less than promising, raining on my way to work, but on the way home, I started feeling fabulous, because the sun was shining.  I nearly walked into something because I was so busy turning my face to be warmed by the sun that I didn’t look where I was going.  How typical for me. 🙂

I’m in the throes of the climax now on The Nine, and so I’m slowing down the pace at which I’m writing (kinda, relatively, for me).  I’m new enough at this end of a story that I’m still tip-toeing through them, trying to figure out what works.  No, that doesn’t mean I’ve let myself slide on goal, cause that isn’t going to happen.  And I don’t need to.  I’m looking back and thinking that I’ve found the goal sweet-spot, that 2k mark that I ask of myself during a draft that invariably leads to so much more.  I think this is going to be a good draft speed to maintain in future projects.

Despite the work days that have made me want to scream and maybe engage in some of the things my imagination comes up with for stories haven’t hampered my writing. Or maybe it’s that frustration that helps drive me forward, I don’t know.  At least my class I’m teaching got moved to late next week, so I don’t have to spend part of tonight prepping for that.  Yay. In any event, Tuesday (which I feel was an abysmal example of a Monday in all its dubious glory), I wrote 3,461 words. Wednesday was absolute HELL at work, and I had to spend two hours when I got home trying to calm down and de-stress enough to write.  That said, I still put up 2,604 words, so I’m not unhappy, especially given that it got me into the climax.  That put me at a total of 86,137 words so far.  I’m positive I’ll be over 90k with this one, but I suspect that the first draft will still fall short of 100k.

I still have my brevity firmly in hand, it seems, from the numbers I’ve been turning up in the second and third books of this trilogy, though I don’t know if it will last.  In some ways, things will be more complicated with Necromantic, with specific schools of magic to introduce, such as the one you already know about from the temporary trilogy title.  So I’m not sure how length will go there, especially as I still have a lot of work to do to feel out the story, both for the first book and the overall story of the trilogy.  I think I know the overall mostly, but we’ll have to see about that.  I’m aware that no plan survives use fully intact, and that’s okay. It’s really more like guidelines than actual rules.

I’ll admit to more than a bit of trepidation about finishing the Mirrors of Bershan trilogy.  Okay, yes, I’ve now finished drafts of two novels, but this is kind of a bigger finish, because the three volumes together are telling a bigger story.  And in a way, I have to finish two things simultaneously.  That’s a lot for me, to complete something so big, something that would have intimidated me into not even really getting off the ground with it just a year ago.  It tells me how far I’ve come that I’m not experiencing the same worries, the same issues as I once did, that I am getting this done without significant resistance from me. I’m usually world class at getting in my own way, and I’m not doing that this time, which is refreshing, even as it shocks the daylights out of me.

I know I still have a lot of work to do, both on this trilogy and on myself as a writer (because that part never ends) but I’m surprisingly confident that I can do it.  My brain is already starting to edit Bound, with scenes being added or rewritten, relationships tweaked, all that good stuff.  All this and I haven’t even opened the word-processing document it’s in.  How’s that for multi-tasking?  It’s going to be better for what I’m doing to it, and it likely won’t slow me down much in my hopes of getting it out there by the end of the summer if I can get the edits done before my upcoming trip.  I have until the end of the first week in May, so that should be plenty of time, as I suspect that I’ll be done The Nine by the end of the coming weekend.  Time will tell on that one, but I have faith in myself.

Hmm, I think a few people just either fainted or died of shock over me saying that.  Can we get a medic in here?

Oh, and on top of all of this, my thoughts keep turning to Necromantic, as you might have guessed.  My writer’s brain keeps wanting to talk out the story, the magic, the characters.  Mostly this involves me scribbling questions and answering them, letting anything at all come out without judgement. It’s quite an interesting exercise, often leading to things I never expected. I did a bunch of that with the second draft of Bound and both subsequent novels, to excellent results (in my opinion at least)

And, on top of that, not half an hour ago, another story idea tackled me.  And trust me, this lady is… forthright with her desire to have her story told.  I’m starting to worry that she and Devan are going to come to blows.  As they live in entirely different worlds, I know they aren’t part of the same story, so there’s another one on the chalkboard, just as soon as she’s calmed down enough to whisper her name in my ear.  It’ll come to me.

And, tonight’s picture is another one from last weekend. I really hadn’t expected this one to turn out and was delighted when I got home and saw this. As always, don’t ask me what it is. It was pretty, coloured and had wild textures.  I may flip this black and white, just to see what it looks like.  I love modern digital technology and its flexibility.

 

-picture

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Characters In My Head Are Restless

  1. winsomebella says:

    Nice pic and I always love reading about your process. Very inspiring 🙂

  2. Funny. I’ve had the same sort of work week. We must work in the same place . . . and it’s been pouring buckets in my neck of the woods, too.

    • Julie says:

      Well, I’m in Vancouver, and I suppose that all this rain is to be expected here in the Spring. It has led to some wonderful camera fodder at least. I’m just glad that it’s the weekend again. I think I need this one more than the last one, though today wasn’t bad. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

