Breathe For A Few Minutes

I think I need to breathe for a few minutes before I start in again tonight, so I’m going to post now about the final couple of days of the weekend.  I feel two completely different things about it, looking back post-first-day-back after the long weekend. First, I feel like I want to do that more often.  Second, I’m not sure I would survive doing that more often.  No, not because I didn’t eat. I did, I swear.

No, it was the sheer productivity of it all.  Stick with me on this, as it’s going to involve a little bit of already reported numbers, but I want you to get the whole picture that I’m looking at from this end of the weekend, or as much as you can without me telling you what’s going on in The Nine.  You know I won’t do that, not even in exchange for chocolate.

So, keep in mind these numbers from the whole weekend:

Thursday:  3,341

Friday:  5,338

Saturday: 5,747

Sunday:  5,828

Monday:  5,475

Just a few words.  No, I haven’t been busy at all.  Not I.  Adding it all up, I wrote 25,729 words, just over the weekend.  And would you believe that I still feel compelled to keep going? I wanted to call in to work dead, just so I could write more.  Of course, they don’t employ dead people (I totally understand that, as zombies can be quite disruptive around the office), so I would have been out of a job and income, and therefor the ability to pay rent and electricity, which are needed to keep me writing. But I tell you that, right now, I feel like I want to live in the world of story, to be gloriously immersed with my characters in it.  Not even just this one, or this particular world that I’ve built.  I just want to be at home and write, all day, every day.  Drugs can’t be this good.  I don’t understand how I’m not tired or burned or anything other than exhilarated.

So, where does this leave the total for the manuscript? Past another milestone (that makes 3 in one weekend for me, a new record, I think, but don’t quote me on that). I hit 80,072 words last night.  By the end of the day today, I’m relatively sure The Nine will surpass the completed length of Possession.  Oh well, I knew this one would be longer, and at least the end is in sight.  Yes, I’m down to the last, oh, 3-5 chapters (not really sure how many, because my outlines aren’t done on a chapter-basis).  It’s winding up to the climax, and then I can wind it down to the end of it all.  It’s a strange, wonderful feeling.

And, of course, in the back of my mind, the edits for Bound are starting to furiously simmer, the thoughts on it flowing as if my creative brain knows it’s nearly time for that pot to get stirred.  This is going to be a busy rest of the month before my trip in May. Oh well, I prefer it that way.

And no, the ideas aren’t sitting there patiently either. I have another trying to percolate and Devan’s getting insistent. I keep having the urge to cruise Google Images for pictures of Venetian Masks, and that’s feeding more thoughts on that idea.  I’m telling you, there’s much going on in my head at the moment that I’m amazed nothing’s leaking out of my ears.

And, on that note, I shall leave you all, because Tavis and Fay are beckoning, begging me to come and play. To keep you occupied, another shot from this past weekend:

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

