Intoxicated With Words and Stories

Well, I think I know now what my schedule would look like if I were ever able to write full time.  7:30 am to 1 am.  Since I’ve done that ever day of this extra long weekend, I’m willing to go out on a limb and suggest they must be my natural working hours as a writer.  I’m sure that I’ll want to do it again tonight, write until 1 am, but I really shouldn’t, since I have that day job thing to go to tomorrow.  Silly day job.  Maybe one day the dream will be realized and there will be no day job.

It’s been a fabulous weekend, with me already getting my unofficial goal done and still today to write with.  I went into this weekend with a vague hope to write 20k, Thursday evening to end of day Monday inclusive.  I hit that last night, so I’m thrilled.  Saturday I wrote 5,747 words, which was a record for the draft so far.  That record lasted until yesterday, when I put down another 5,828 words. 🙂  I love it when I’m on a roll.  This launched me past another milestone, as you might imagine.  I know I just hit 60k the other day, but now The Nine sits at 74,597 words.

That, of course, officially makes it longer than the second draft of Bound (aka first draft 2.0).  Ah well, I knew that was coming.  I’m entirely certain that I’ll surpass the first draft of Possession too, and by more than just a few words.  I’m not sure when that will happen, but at the rate I’m going, it likely won’t take long, even with having to go back to work tomorrow and a class to teach at work on Friday.  And I’m almost certain I still won’t be done by then.  I might be at the climax though.  I can feel the build to it now, and, when I look back, I can’t believe how far this story has come in just the almost 75k that I’ve already written.  It just amazes me.  Factor in the rest of the trilogy, and wow, that’s a lot of story.  My brain has an OMG moment every time I consider it.

And yet, at the same time, there’s another, opposing feeling. I don’t want it to end. Crazy, but I don’t.  This trilogy has been an experience in writing beyond my expectations, and I don’t want to say goodbye to any of the characters, to the world, to any of it.  Yes, especially not Tavis.  I’m suddenly able to understand how some series end up just going on and on until you get irritated with the writer.  I’m going to restrain myself, and stick with the original plan of just this trilogy (and maybe a return visit for the stand-alone), but dear gods, how it is tempting to just stay and play.

It’s an interesting feeling and, like getting so wrapped up in my characters that I don’t notice time passing, it’s absolutely shocking for me to have this feeling of not wanting it to end with my own work.  That’s something that I’ve had plenty of times with other people’s work, but with my own it’s new, and I don’t think it’s just because this trilogy contains my only finished novels to date.  I couldn’t imagine not finishing these, because the story keeps drawing me along.  Hell, it’s what’s responsible for writing until 1 am. One more word, just to the end of the paragraph, it whispers. Keep going, you know you want to finish this section, this chapter, it teases. I can’t help it. I think I could stop the sun more easily than  I could have stopped writing these books before finishing them.

I can only pray that future projects will capture me in the same way, but I’m fairly confident that they will.  I’ve learned about building what are for me (and I hope for others) compelling worlds, characters and stories with this trilogy, and already, I can hear the whispers of Necromantic, begging to be explored, for its depths to be plumbed. I think there’s many more wild rides ahead of me. I’m going to try to do a good job with them all. I hope others enjoy them as much as I do, but that’s something that will unfold with the fullness of time.

It’s been a productive weekend beyond the writing thing too, don’t get me wrong. I left the house for a while. Don’t everybody die of shock at once.  I went out on Saturday, because it was sunny and fairly warm and my camera needed to feel loved.  Cameras have feelings too, like laptops and characters, and you have to ensure they feel sufficiently loved. 🙂 So I was out for an hour or two (yeah, yeah, I don’t bother with watches, I prefer to live organically on the weekend), and shot over 200 picturess.  As is always the case, not everything is worthy of showing, but a shocking amount of it is.  I’m going to need to post more often just so I can share them all… 😀

Today’s photo is one of that batch at least.  Now, while I like my pictures, I usually start picking out their flaws after a few seconds.  This one kind of took my breath away for a while longer than that.  I love the way it turned out, that you can even see the slight fuzz on the leaves.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Intoxicated With Words and Stories

  1. Pete Denton says:

    Wow!

    Now that is what you call a writing weekend and you even managed to leave the house. Impressive. It must be great to be in that zone.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! And yeah, it’s a good zone, hoping to get another good, 5k day out of it before this weekend goes into the books, as it were. Sincerely possible, as I have this amazing scene I’m writing today, plus another good, emotional one after that. I love the build up to the climax. Always good for keeping you going until you get no sleep. See previous post title. 😀

  2. omg I just loved reading this ..

    I guess it’s like being pregnant.. you’re nurturing, growing and loving these characters into being .. and giving birth will be the ‘end’ of that process. But it’s not .. it’s the beginning of sharing the characters with the rest of us / the world .. yeah OK that’s twaddle. I would feel the same way about it as you do and keep writing and writing cos it felt great .. *grins*

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. And it’s not twaddle, you’re right. I’ve heard published authors who have kids refer to their book(s) like a baby. The really hard part, as I understand it is when you send that baby out into the world to other people.

      It’s not so much that it feels like an end, more that I won’t be seeing them again, not the same way and certainly not as much. I’m not even convinced how much I’d go back and reread my older stories as I go, and that would mostly be about my own guilt. I’d feel bad because I know I will grow and become more skilled as I write more, and I’m sure that I will read my earlier works and think of how much better they would have been if I had written them with greater experience under my belt. But something has to be first, something has to be the early work you learn from. So the Mirrors of Bershan trilogy is it, and I’ll just have to learn to deal with that. 🙂

  3. Israel says:

    So when do we get to start reading these novels? 😉

    You sound so excited, i wish i was that excited about something lol.

    Happy writing and take care beautiful.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. The books will be published as ebooks when they’re ready. I’m hoping to have Bound out by the end of the summer, but I never make promises unless I’m sure.

      • Israel says:

        i’m not the biggest internet savy person so i am just guessing ebooks means we have to pay to read them?

        Anyways, hope your having fun writing good lady. 🙂

  4. My novel writing hasn’t been quite like that, but I hope perhaps it eventually will be. I never have enough of the story at once, I think…trying to do a total outline of the thing would probably have taken almost as long as writing it is/will so I kind of work out each section as I go. I’m still hoping to become more consistently productive in a more sustained way once I get fully adjusted to working again and stuff, but it’s hard.

    Enough about me though, its fabulous you had such a fantacular weekend and were able to devote so much time to storytelling. And lovely leaf-photos and such. May we all eventually reach that day of saying good bye to our day/night/all the time jobs so as to focus entirely on our REAL work.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. And you have to give yourself time to make that adjustment. It’s not a small one.

      My experience with outlining is that it makes the writing itself go faster. Little or no time spent sitting there and trying to figure out what happens next, things like that. On the whole, I think it saves me time to do the outlining and prep work that I do before I sit down at the actual keyboard. As I said, my experience. Like everything else I say about process, your mileage may vary.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

