Sleep Is For Wusses, Right?

Okay, so that’s two days in a row.  Write until 1 am, wake up at 7:30.  Uh, yeah, sure, that’s plenty apparently.  If this keeps up all weekend, it’ll be interesting trying to get up for work on Tuesday.  Oh well, a worry for another day.

Yes, this means I’m having a good weekend and I thought I’d stop in and share that, among other things, since I didn’t really get into my progress yesterday.  What can I say, pre-coffee productivity always astounds me and is uncommon enough in my life that I feel the need to comment on it.  It’s funny, most days I only have the one coffee in the morning, with tea of various sorts filling the rest of the day, but that one is so necessary that it’s not usually a good idea to talk to me before I inhale it.

So, down to the numbers for The Nine. Only two days to report, but they have definitely been good ones.  Thursday, I banged out 3,341 words, and since it was a work day with a fire alarm going off, I counted it as good. Yesterday, in between making a large batch of soup (in the interests of me eating at least once a day) and a few other necessary interruptions, I put in 5,338 words.  I’ve finished up to Chapter 17, and the book stands at 63,022.  Way for me to pole vault over the 60k milestone. 😀

I’m having one of those major disbelief moments though, and it’s coupled with a tentative feeling of this means I’ve grown as an author.  I guess it’s really a matter of looking at how far I’ve come, how much has happened in the book so far and thinking, “That was just 63k? And I still have how much to go?!?”  Don’t get me wrong, I still love the progress I’ve made and I’m happy with in when grading on the appropriate first draft quality curve.  I’m just a bit amazed.  I normally only get that feeling from other people’s published works.  You know the one, where you get to the end and think about all the stuff that happened and can’t believe that was contained in a single book.  I’m sure at least some of you have had that.  Well, I’m going through that with The Nine, and, being me, I’m having to push to grasp that this means I’ve probably grown as an author.  See, I even hedge on it here.  I need to learn to give myself a little credit. *Rolls her eyes* Right, cause that’s ever going to happen. Not likely.

My brain really is totally in creative mode, by the way, and I know this because of the things it’s doing.  On top of yesterday’s startling image (both in clarity and timing), I had another story nugget pop up.  What the hell?  Yes, it’s safely scribbled/tapped away, ready for when I can unpack it and see what the Writing Fairy brought me this time.  It’s like Christmas in my brain, I’m telling you! What sparked this one? Sort of the title of someone else’s blog post.  The worst part? This is not even close to a first.  My idea always seems to end up totally unrelated to whatever they were posting about (yes, I usually check that), but it’s funny to me every time it happens.  Inspiration really does come from everywhere and anywhere around me.

Still so many things swirling around in the back of my brain while I’m busy writing.  Mostly it’s everything I want to find a way to work on at once.  I was saying to a friend who is also a writer just yesterday that I need to find a way to split in two like an amoeba, just so I’ll have enough time and energy to get even half of it done.  She totally sympathized and agreed.  So many stories to develop and tell.  I’m not sure that even writing full time would help with this, given that I’m pretty productive with just evenings and weekends for writing, and I’d probably be in danger of burnout if I push it too hard.  Long time readers of this blog will remember seeing me flirt with that already.  I don’t want to do that, because then I really won’t get all of these stories told.  And they need to be told, they really do, or so they whine at me while they’re begging for a turn.  Begging story ideas and characters are cute, you know.

The sun is shining out and so I’ll probably take an hour or so today to go out with the camera and capture the progress of spring 🙂  With all the rain we’ve had, it should be good. This photo is not so recent but I like it so much that it’s the lock screen on my iPad.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sleep Is For Wusses, Right?

  1. Israel says:

    Yea if you spend all your time writing you wont have time to live your own life babe. Not saying you souldn’t write or anything but always make sure to take you time. But i am glad your so happy with how this weekends going with the writing. 🙂

    I guess for someone like me i have no life so writing all the time wouldn’t really affect that much. But i don’t write books or anything like that , just my blog lol. Not to say i haven’t thought about it though.

    Anyways, happy writing good lady. Hope it goes down on paper the way you want it to.

    • Julie says:

      Trust me, my life is Write, Blog, Eat, Sleep. Sometimes I forget to eat, and as you can see I don’t always do a lot of sleeping. That really narrows it down. 🙂 The good news is I’m happy with the level my life is at, so the above just doesn’t phase me. I figure that I’ll live my life my way, rather than some overall external belief of how I should be living it. It keeps me happier. 🙂

      • Israel says:

        Well i am not saying you have to or anything, i mean do what makes you happy of course. But some guy might like you and want to marry a writer one day. 😉

        Even if you don’t do anymore than what your doing now it might be nice to have someone around. Not sure if that makes sense to you or not.

        • Julie says:

          It does, but I’ve done the being married thing and while I wouldn’t mind having someone around to share with, I’ve also learned that I need to live my own life, which is what this is.

          • Israel says:

            True, maybe one day someone will want to share your life with you and not get in the way of it. You do seem like a good lady, i just don’t want you to be lonely or anything. I know i’m weird. lol

            I guess if you’ve seen my blog you already knew that 😉 Sorry for rambling.

          • Julie says:

            Not to worry. I appreciate the concern, but trust me, I’m not lonely. These days, life is actually the best it’s been in years.

          • Israel says:

            🙂 thanks for not seeing me as weird

            Happy writting beautiful

  2. Sally Panayiotou says:

    You know yourself better than anyone so if you’re feeling great putting so much time into your writing at the moment then go for it! Reading your blog I always just get a sense of someone who’s enjoying their writing and choosing to prioritise it rather than using it to escape (although it’s really sweet of Israel to be concerned).

    It feels so good to realise you’re growing as a writer and learning your voice. It’s also great when you re-read something you’ve written and forgotten what happens so you get to enjoy it like a reader, which must happen when you’re putting away so many words!

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, I think my brain reaches overflow fairly quickly at the rate I’ve been going. Perhaps that’s a good thing, as you say.

      And you’re right, I am enjoying all of this writing. After so many years of thinking about it but being afraid to do it, this feels like I’m free. 🙂

  3. jmmcdowell says:

    We shouldn’t take anything in life for granted, so if you’re on a great roll with the writing and enjoying it, there’s nothing wrong with going with it. As long as you do take care of yourself, though! 🙂

  4. 4amWriter says:

    Well, you can probably guess that sleep is not on my top 10 list of priorities. I wake up every morning at 4 (yes, weekends and holidays and school vacations, too) and I try to get to bed around 10:30. I generally fall asleep within 5 minutes, and sleep like a rock until the crickets on my IPhone chirp me awake.

    So, I can only cheer you on through your claim that ‘sleep is for wusses’! Ra-Ra! hey, if you’re losing out on sleep for writing, then that’s a good cause in my book!

    Have a great weekend.

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, so you’re on the same type of schedule I am, just different start/finish times. And at least we don’t have to worry about an episode of insomnia derailing our productivity. Would we even notice if one happened?

      And I won’t lie, I did think of you when I titled the post, figuring you’d understand. 🙂

  5. Hmm yes seems like you’ve been busy. I’ve been known to go minimalist on sleep also, though rarely as productively so. I’m still adjusting to this new job…and to working again…but I am getting a little real work done. I hope to soon get readjusted and into a pattern and I’d like to start really trying to get in at least a thousand words of something a day…or even most days.

    Tea is infinitely superior to coffee, on all levels.

    And yes, the ideas will have their way in the end. There is really no use fighting. And so, we don’t, because to resist is to go completely crazy.

    That IS quite a nice photo…captures the textures very well.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I hope you manage to get settled into that routine too. Keep in mind, though, that all forward progress is good, no matter how big or small. It’s moving forward that’s important.

      Most of the teas I drink are herbal though, so no caffeine kick, but I’ve learned to survive. Most of them contain enough natural sugar to keep me going. 🙂

  6. Em says:

    As always, very proud of you and I love hearing about all of the accomplishments you’ve been making with your writing since you started these projects!

    And I’m pretty sure I get it – writing time is “you” time, yes? Same as it is for me? 😀

    • Julie says:

      Yes, which means I get a LOT of me time these days. And thanks for the encouragement. I love knowing I have a cheering section 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

