Word Orgy

I have a feeling I’m going to get some attention for that title, but I swear, I didn’t use it just to titillate.  I’m not even using it in *that* sense. I’m using it the sense of excessive indulgence in a specific activity (quoting my dictionary here).  That’s what’s about to happen.  Why is this different from the rest of the time I’m writing a draft?  Simple.  This is the start of a four-day weekend for me.  It’s Easter here and at my work, we get both the Friday and Monday off.  This means a major burst of writing is coming for The Nine.

Before anyone asks, yes, I have food, even stuff I can make in the five minutes I can pry myself out of my book when I do things like this.  I’m not likely to starve over the weekend, though I suppose I shouldn’t entirely discount the possibility.  This is me, and I’m having fun with this book.  And with Tavis.  Always having fun with Tavis.

I can’t say for sure how much I’m going to get done, but I suspect it will be a fair amount and I’m looking forward to the progress.  I’m actually feeling a bit of a pinch with an upcoming, admittedly self-imposed deadline, so I need this, but I’m trying not to pressure myself too much.  That tends to break my brain a little, and it’s never been robust. More on that later though.

A quick look back at the last couple of days and I can tell you that I’ve been progressing well. Tuesday saw 2,456 words, while last night I had to pry myself away from the keyboard at 11:30 at night, and only managed that because I had work today.  Things went very well for a work night, with 3,323 written.  This brings me up to 54,343 before I start writing today, and I have some nice stuff lined up in my prep work for the rest of the current chapter and all of the next.

I should tell you, I got a view today at work of how much of a writer I am and how committed I am to my work as a writer.  The fire alarm went off and they never said it was a test, so we figured it was real this time.  Instead of fleeing  evacuating the building immediately, I stopped, grabbed by bag, stuffed my assorted notebooks and my iPad in it, then my killer headphones, and THEN left the building.  I forgot to take my jacket with me, which has my house keys, but I remembered to stop for the writing supplies and writing work.  I’m not sure if I should be as proud of that as I am. 🙂  Don’t worry, everything turned out fine and some hot firemen got a good laugh at us all standing around in the sunshine, but it really does illustrate my priorities.

Okay, so, the afore-mentioned deadline.  See, my plan has been to finish The Nine and then, after tossing that in the drawer, pulling out Bound and doing the work on it that I’ve been burning to do.  Am still burning to do, to be entirely honest about it.  And that’s fine, but I wanted to have the work on Bound and a round of at least basic copy editing on that done just ahead of my trip in early May back to visit family and friends. The longer it takes me to finish The Nine, the less time I’m going to have for that, and I’m starting to get worried about that timeline.  Yes, it’s self-imposed, but it’s there for a reason it’s there.  I will be seeing my two test readers when I go back and I had mentioned trying to have the new version of it ready by then so I could hand it to them, instead of shipping it across the country.  I still think I can do this. I’m not quite panicking, and I am adamantly refusing to rush my work on The Nine (I’d only pay later if I did anyway), but I will say that I am grateful for this long weekend and the opportunity it presents to get ahead.  I think I need about a week to make the additions/changes to Bound that I know for sure I need to make, then at least a few days in the drawer, maybe a week, then a few more days to edit and then print.  A whirlwind schedule, but still doable at the moderate (for me) pace I’ve been going at so far, especially if I get as much done this weekend as I think I’m going to.  Yes, I know my test readers are apt to chime in and say that I don’t have to give it to them then, and I know that, but when has “don’t have to” ever stopped me from trying?  The answer, for those of you less familiar with me as a person, is never.  So, on that note, this writer needs to go crack open her trusty netbook.

No, I haven’t forgotten. Tonight’s picture, before I run off, is yet another where I don’t know what flower it is, but at least this time I remember taking it in a garden in the Yonge St and Eglinton Ave area of Toronto, which was one of my favourite areas to live in there.  Expensive, but nice and places that make all kinds of food everywhere.  It doesn’t matter what you want to eat, Yonge and Eg can feed it to you.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Word Orgy

  1. I’m not doing Script Frenzy, but I am going to do Camp Nano when it comes around this year. =) I find it odd that I can’t seem to get the kind of gusto going that you seem to have for your book at the moment! It might have something to do with finishing final edits on last year’s Nano work, and switching gears to my completely unrelated fantasy work… Great Job on the word count, and I hope I can catch some of your contagious energy for my own writing!

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, I don’t do scripts. I’m strictly a novel type of girl 🙂 Edits can be hard to go through, though for me it depends on how I feel about the draft. Bound has been easy, because I’m largely happy with it. That might be why I’m looking forward to working on that after I finish this, because I think I see a light at the end of the editing tunnel there.

      I’m still on the fence as to whether I’ll be doing either of the Camp NaNo months. It’s mostly that I don’t know what, if anything I’ll have ready. This trilogy will be done, and I don’t know yet if I’ll be ready to start the next one. I may be at least for the August one, probably not June, as I’ve started outlining the first book in that trilogy.

      As for my pace, I find that if I don’t write NaNo-style, fast and straight forward, I never finish anything. NaNo 2011 taught me that 🙂 Thanks for the comment, and I hope you keep pushing forward in your own work. It’s the only way it gets done and shared, after all.

  2. Israel says:

    I keep hearing so much about what you are writing and keep thinking i may have missed some of it on here. But it makes me curious because you talk so passionately about it so it makes me want to read them. Note: I don’t actually read alot as far as books or novels are concerned, so that was a big complement 🙂

    Hot firemen? lol Well maybe they thought you were the hot one 😉

    • Julie says:

      Thank you for the compliment. I haven’t posted anything up here for my writing other than the excerpt last Saturday in the Meme for your Thoughts post. I do plan to post the first chapter of Bound at some point, hopefully in the next month or so, but I’m waiting until I’m a bit more sure that it’s ready. It’ll be a prelude to publication, I can tell you that much.

      And I wish the firemen thought I was hot. Trust me, they were laughing at us. :p Oh well, at least I got an eye-full. 😀

      • Israel says:

        You look beautiful, don’t put yourself down so much. If they didn’t care enough to like who you are (personaly or physically) then they aren’t worth the effort. But who cares if they liked how you looked or not atleast you were the one who got the pleasure out of them being there lol 😉

        • Julie says:

          That picture is now 5 years old, the only one I know of that I like, and I hate having my picture taken. It’s why I took up photography, because the best place to hide from cameras is behind one. But thank you very much 🙂 Maybe one of these millennia I’ll take a newer picture and post that up. Not likely, but stranger things have happened, like me posting one in the first place.

          • Israel says:

            lol Your still to hard on yourself. And its not your physical appearance that makes you who you are. Just be you and don’t conform for anyone. Who ever you marry will love you body and soul.

          • Israel says:

            P.S.

            I also already read that. 🙂 I didn’t know it was from one of those though. I liked it. Made me want to know more back story and why the old man was “going to die”.

          • Julie says:

            Thanks 🙂 I thought you might have read that, but the last few weeks have been a bit nuts in my life for a multitude of reasons. And I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it and wanted to know more. To me, that means I’m doing my job as the writer 😀

          • Israel says:

            Keep up the good work then and don’t get discouraged. 🙂

            Nuts? Because you mentioned your life i am now curious about what reasons you are talking about but i wont ask on here.

          • Julie says:

            Just a busy time at work. Year-end at my company, that’s all. It just meant a couple of weeks of major stress and then a week of recovery. I made it through though, still writing the whole time too, so it’s all good.

            And thank you for the encouragement.

          • Israel says:

            Ah i see. Sorry i’ve kept going on with this lol.

            And its my pleasure good lady.:)

  3. dex says:

    Seriously, your productivity is inspiring to me. Inspiring like a kick in the ass, but inspiring nonetheless. I need to embrace the fevered pace you’re embracing, and the only thing keeping me from it is me.

    Thanks for posting this.

    • Julie says:

      Glad to provide something other than just a laugh. And honestly, it was something kicking me in the ass that got me to this pace. I’m just lucky that the ideas seem to keep up, or I’d be in trouble. I do, however, look forward to seeing your progress. Your flash fiction still amazes me. I could’t hope to do that. I was surprised enough when I did a whole short story in 3500 words.

  4. Ottabelle says:

    Sounds like a great weekend plan. Can’t wait to hear how it goes 🙂 I’m always so excited for you. You really are an inspiration to me. I honestly mean that.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks, Amber. I appreciate the compliment, and hope I can continue to live up to it. Thank you for reminding me that I should perhaps give myself a little more credit than I do. 🙂

  5. jmmcdowell says:

    Have a good writing weekend, and don’t forget to eat! 😉

    (And those flowers are peonies.)

  6. 4amWriter says:

    Your evac supplies make me laugh. At home we practice fire drills with the kids, make sure they know where the family meeting point is, don’t stop for toys, books, etc. But when we practice, I always think, man, I really need to think of a way to snag my laptop on the way out…

    Have a great writing weekend.

    • Julie says:

      The really sad truth is this was not a first. I do the same thing at home. I have a memory card I keep all my writing backed up to (among other places) and I always reach for that and the notebooks and iPad when the alarm in the building goes off in the middle of the night. *shakes her head*

  7. Pete Denton says:

    I like the details about what you grabbed before you left the building. They are the little details to slip in about a character to tell us everything we need to know in their actions. Good traits to have 🙂 Happy Easter weekend.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. Glad to provide insight if you ever need to write about an obsessed writer 🙂 Oh, wait, you mean characters other than me… 😀

      Merry Easter to you too.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

