Worse Than Playing Chess With Myself

I promised myself that I would be good and write an update today, even though at the moment all I want to do is make myself a blueberry-grape-honey tea (don’t ask, long story, involves jam) and get down to writing for the day.  I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to this long weekend and putting the pedal to metal.  I can feel it coming, really.  I should remember to buy supplies before I get started or I’ll forget to eat all weekend.  I’m not sure that I’m kidding either.

It’s been a good couple of days, and I’m happy with the progress I’ve been making on The Nine. The numbers are my version of decent, which means most people would pat themselves on the back.  I just refrain from berating myself.  I’m bad, but it’s by demanding more, better from ourselves that we get ahead, or so people keep telling me.  I may take that a touch too seriously sometimes.  *Shrugs*

Sunday I had a pretty good day, 5,083 words and a storyline milestone achieved that I won’t explain because that would spoil the surprise. Yesterday was surprisingly good to for having had a long day at work, 3,039.  This brings me to a total of 48,564 words.  I’m expecting a good night tonight too, but the numbers on that will have to wait for next time.

I’m having a bit of fun with the parts I’m at now, being able to show some things the story didn’t give me an opportunity to before, which is also bringing a bit of a challenge.  How do I show that these things have been going on in some way all along without just saying it? I think I’m up for that though, that it’ll even help me grow further as a writer.  Isn’t that what challenges are for, to be catalysts for growth?

I’m still fighting with myself on Bound.  I want to work on it.  I want to go work in the things I need to put into it so badly it’s nearly comical. I’m not going to. I keep reminding myself that I swore I wouldn’t interrupt writing one book for working on another.  It’s mostly working, but not as well as I’d like.  It really doesn’t help when I have to go back and double-check names and events in that manuscript.  Really doesn’t help at all.  But I’ll manage, and I guess that means I’ll be ready to go on that when I write The End on The Nine. But man, it’s a battle of wills, and I’m not even sure I have an opponent other than myself!  How do I decide a winner in that case? Does it even matter, since there’s clearly no real loser either?

And finally, the picture of the day.  I think this might have been from my mother’s garden years ago, but no one quote me on that, because I’m not remotely sure.  I tend to just shoot pictures, say “Oh, pretty” then forget the circumstances.  Oops. Maybe I should work on that.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Worse Than Playing Chess With Myself

  1. Em says:

    Just wanted to let you know I am still following this and I do still plan on adding my ‘lucky seven’ page for you…just need 5 minutes to do so.

    Glad to hear the progress is still going so well! ❤

    • Julie says:

      See, I didn’t want you to feel pressured which is why I didn’t officially tag you. I figure that you’ve got your hands full at the moment. Follow when you can, and, as always, thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

  2. I commend you on NOT going back to your previous book while you’re writing your current one. I stopped writing my current WIP just as I was about to write the ending chapter, because I HAD TO rewrite a previous manuscript. But I figure that last chapter is perculating somewhere in the recesses of my mind while I’m rewriting the other. At least I hope so.

    • Julie says:

      I’m sure it will still be there when you go back. Maybe with some extra ideas. Take some notes in the meantime when you have thoughts about it, see what you think of it all when you’re done with Visions.

      As for me, I just know that I need to stay focused or I’ll start trying to do everything at once, which will be wildly counterproductive.

  3. Sally Panayiotou says:

    In can’t believe how much you manage to get written! Have you checked your fingertips recently to make sure you haven’t erased your fingerprints (cue dastardly criminal plan now you can’t be identified – oh, this isn’t the eighties, we have DNA testing now so that one doesn’t work anymore)?

    At least you’ve got the fun of the sweetie-shop with different WIPs trying to catch your attention – resist…resist!

    • Julie says:

      Lol, no, the fingerprints are still there, digits not bleeding. I am starting to worry about erasing brain cells, but I have spares, right? Somewhere around here?

      And all these WIPs screaming for my attention does make concentrating a wee bit challenging, but I shan’t complain. I really should be grateful for the excess 🙂

  4. Ottabelle says:

    I don’t know if I could ever just dedicate myself to one sole project. I take frequent long breaks from novel and write stories and other things. You keep doing what you do though cause its much more productive!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I used to try what you do, but it didn’t work for me, and I refuse to keep doing things that don’t work for me, just because it works for other people. To me, that’s the thing, to remember that every writer needs to find the way that works best for them, or you’ll never get anywhere.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

