Hard At Work In All Directions

Okay, so I’ve been bad and haven’t posted in… No, let’s not count the days.  Either way, I’m sure there were expectations of a post by now, hell, before now.  No, I didn’t forget to eat while writing once too often.  I swear, I’ve been good that way, dinner every night this week! No, I did not explode into a neurotic ball of fire either.  That would have been impressive though. 🙂

But of course, you all know what my excuse will be.  The Nine.  In my defence, it’s Tavis’ fault, really, all his fault.  Yup, way too wrapped up in writing to come up for air, let alone blog posts.  Actually, I consider the above statement about my eating habits to be at least a minor miracle, given how much I’ve been focusing on writing.  It’s funny, the totals don’t look that huge (in the context of my past performance), but they are adding up and, even more than that, the story is gaining some serious momentum.  I am, however, continuing to experience a certain amount of trepidation regarding final length, but trying not to get neurotic about it.  We’ve had enough of that for one week I suspect.

Before we go on, I’m going to get the numbers out of the way:

Monday: 2,432 words

Tuesday: 2,715

Wednesday: 2,347

Thursday: 3,017

Total Thus Far: 32,506 words

Not my best totals ever, but good work and at least above pace every day. Also,  couple of parts are now done that I was both nervous about and looking forward too.  We’ll see what I think about them when this thing goes into and eventually comes back out of the drawer. I am, however, enjoying writing some of this stuff, the way the characters are playing off of each other, and the things that are going on.  I wish I could talk more about that but it would a) give away stuff in the first two books, and b) probably jeopardize me getting this one finished, which has been a problem whenever I talked to someone about the plot in an unfinished book before.  And trust me, if I don’t finish the trilogy, my test readers will likely come hunting for me for the sole purpose of making me a corpse. An ugly corpse at that, I suspect. 🙂

In the back of my mind, I’ve also been mulling over Bound and the feedback I’ve gotten and have come to the conclusion that one of the characters in it is, well, not in it enough and needs to be problematized.  No, for certain friends of mine, that does not mean I’m dipping him in hot oil or otherwise torturing him.  Well, not torturing per se. 🙂 He’s just too one dimensional, too easy to categorize and the more I consider it, the less I like that.  It’s funny, because I remember making him the way he is mostly on purpose, but I’ve realized I don’t like the effect as much as I’d thought.  It’s too easy to dismiss him, and that I don’t want. So I’m going to be changing the way I deal with him, how often, how he interacts with others and perhaps a little of how they react to him.  That’s going to be some not-inconsiderable work (not to be started until The Nine is in the drawer, I might add), but I think I’m up to it.  It also means that Bound is definitely going to get longer.  I can’t say for sure how much longer, but I’m thinking at least in the four-figure range longer, maybe five.  We’ll find out, but I think that it’s going to make it a better, slightly more complex story.  I like that idea.  We’ll see how it comes out and how test readers react when they get it.  I’ll have to let you know at least when I start working on that. At this point, it’s just me franticly scribbling notes and plans in my notebook.  That’s often fun and exhilarating though.

You know, I feel a little bad for Devan.  He got a week or so of really serious attention, but the next two or three months aren’t looking that good for me spending much time on Necromantic.  I’m trying to keep in mind that it gives the ideas time to percolate and all that, but sometimes I miss my necromancer. As I’ve said on many occasions, you have to read this blog with the understanding that writers are crazy, especially this one. In fact, I’m a pro at crazy, if nothing else in this world.

As a final thought before I run off to start the weekend’s word explosion, as always, the picture of the day.  This is from one of my recent walks around my neighbourhood.  It’s been raining a lot here lately, but that makes me think of how much fun I’ll have with my camera when the sun finally comes back out.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hard At Work In All Directions

  1. Ottabelle says:

    Happy I got back to reading blogs and then you come back too! I am so happy for your progress and I know it is amazing. I can’t wait for the opportunity to read.

    Glad you remembered to eat, too 😛

    Much love.

  2. 4amWriter says:

    Glad to see you back, blogging, eating, writing, taking pics, the whole enchilada. Sounds like a good choice to re-do that one-dimensional character. Is he a minor character? I think they are the hardest to devote time and energy to. I fully believe they need to be well-rounded, just like the major cast, but I always get stuck on how to do it without adding extra words/pages and exceeding my word count limit.

    The challenge, for me, is to make what I already have come alive more, so that those minor characters leap off the page when they are on stage. Rather than adding more scenes just to give them more playtime, because if it’s still just flat then extra scenes aren’t going to make a difference.

    Good luck with it!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks Kate. The situation with this character is complicated in it’s own way, and I don’t want to say too much about him, because I don’t want to give anything away about him. My current plan mostly involves rewriting some of the scenes in, making the most of those. If I add anything, it will be limited in amount, because there’s only so much he’s able to do in his current situation. He’s not exactly minor, and he’s definitely important, so I have to try to get it right. I just haven’t done that yet, but that’s why you send this stuff out to test readers, right? And in a way I’m lucky on length. Bound is currently about 83k, so it’s got room to grow if it needs too. I don’t start thinking about length until the MS exceeds 100k, but then Fantasy tends toward longer novels than many other genres.

      And I agree, there’s a delicate balance to writing minor characters who are more than cardboard cutouts and at the same time don’t try to steal the show. Of course, I’ve had one of them turn out to be a much more major character than I realized at first, but that’s okay, because it worked out well for the story. But how do you know when you’ve just let them get away from you vs when it’s actually necessary? That’s the challenge, really.

  3. Is Devan hot cos I could use a toy boy?

    • Julie says:

      An affection for dark clothes, definitely hot though. I suppose I could loan him out to you until it’s really his turn in the hot seat. 🙂 After all, I have a whole imagination’s worth of fictional boy toys…

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

