Still Incredibly Not Patient

Yeah, I know, none of you are surprised.  Neither am I.  I still haven’t found my patience.  I’ve found brevity, but not patience.  I’m starting to think patience and me are like oil and water.  Oh well, it could be worse I guess.  Like my sense of time.

It must be because of how awful last week was, and how much I’ve done in the past several days, how far I’ve come in my mind with Necromantic in the last few days or so, but I could have sworn I was being very good.  I’d have made any oath you liked that I had waited nearly two weeks to reopen my outline for The Nine, which would have been nearly a record for me.  It wasn’t until I checked the date of my post here about finishing it that I realized it hadn’t even quite been a week, but I decided that wasn’t going to stop me because I am really out of patience regarding waiting to start writing this one.  In spite of all my talk about feeling intimidated by this book, because it’s the close of the trilogy, and worrying about whether I am up to writing it, I want to get started.  Part of that is that it feels ready.  And after rereading the outline tonight, it really feels ready.  Part of it is knowing that I have to write it in order to get to editing, where I can mould it into that better version of itself.  I’m really not sure which I enjoy more, writing or editing.  I think they’re tied.  Does that make me sick in some ways, given the number of writers I’ve heard say they hate editing?

Regular readers know what’s coming next.  Yes, I’m doing another NaNo for The Nine.  Is there any other way I write first drafts (or subsequent from-scratch drafts)?  Of course not.  Keeping in mind how hard I pushed myself last time (aka a little too hard) and how worn out I felt by the end, I’m going to follow my own afore-mentioned advice and dial it back slightly this time.  Kinda.  In my own way.  This time I’m making the 30-day goal 60k, instead of the 75k I set myself in February for Possession.  That will put my daily word count goal at 2k.  Now, anyone who was reading this blog in December or February (or just went back and looked at those old posts) will probably be laughing at that.  We know I’m unlikely to stop at 2k, ever, at least not if I have more in me to write that day.  But I found that the higher daily required word count in February actually hindered me, which is why I’m dialling it back.  See, when I hit that required amount, I seem to cut loose and just keep going, often doubling that amount.  But what I found in February is that, on rough days, by the time I slogged my way through that required amount, I was exhausted.  So I’m going to play a bit of a mind game with myself and see how it works.  I’m thinking it’ll be easier to do those 4k days now, but we’ll see how it goes.  I’d like to take the time to get this one reasonably right, because it is so important.  If it takes me more than the 30 days, well, that’s okay too.  Ideally, I’d like to have it done before my trip back to visit my folks, but that’s not until early May, so there’s plenty of time, and besides, if that doesn’t happen, it’s still no big deal.  It’ll take as long as it takes.

So, when will this explosion of words begin?  My original plan was April.  I was going to write all of this in April.  That’s not what’s going to happen and I think we all know this.  It’s like my plan to write Possession in March.  What’s that?  We’re over halfway through March and I’ve already finished Possession and done the first round of editing?  Right, that’s right, I started that in early February.  This time it’ll probably be either tomorrow or the day after that I’ll get started on The Nine.  Knowing me, I’d almost lay money on tomorrow.  I’m so excited that you wouldn’t believe the amount of typos I’m having to correct (really unusual for me).  I know I finished Possession less than a month ago, but I already miss writing every day.  I’ve told you guys, I’m an addict.  I have no qualms, especially if I can get skilled enough to make at least a decent living at this.  All writing, all day… I could love that quite easily.

Okay, now that the big news has been spilled, I think it’s time for some smaller news.  The most observant (or just really bored) among you will have noticed that I’ve added a new page to this blog.  It’s an information page for the Mirrors of Bershan Trilogy.  Why do you care?  Well, maybe you don’t, but maybe you want to check out the book blurb I’ve been working on, since it’s there.  The feedback came in very positive with some helpful suggestions and I think this thing has been massaged into some semblance of interesting.  Now I’m looking for a wider audience interest level.  For those of you who have been, well, not dying, but at least mildly interested to find out something about the book I’ve been banging on here about writing while sharing next to no details, here’s your chance.

No, I still haven’t emailed my preferred cover designer yet, but publishing the blurb here might actually prod me into action on that.  I think I’m mostly afraid that if I have a cover, then I have to publish the book, and then all the dreamy dreams I tell myself not to have about what will happen when I publish my first book will be washed away by icky reality.  Okay, maybe reality will be better than I expect (though probably not as good as I hope).  I’m an eternal pessimist.  It saves me a lot of heartache in the long run, I find.

And before I forget, yes, still making notes and outlining Necromantic, probably won’t stop entirely while writing The Nine, because I never do just one thing at a time, but it probably will slow things down a bit.  That’s probably for the best since with new ideas, my brain seems to work like a slow cooker.  Give it time and something tasty will result. 😀

And before this gets any longer, the picture of the day.  I love Japanese Maples.  Such glorious colour and shapes.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Still Incredibly Not Patient

  1. I thought I was designing the cover damnit!!
    *cries in the most disconsolate fashion ever*

    hehheh .. aw crap the heheh blew my cover, right?? 😉

    • Julie says:

      Lol, I’m just glad to see you again. I thought you’d run off with Mr. New, never to be seen again. 🙂

      And I was never going to buy that act from you. Hope everything’s been well though.

      • aw crud *grins* I dunno how things are going, let’s talk about words flowing instead k 😉

        • Julie says:

          Um, okay, I’ll just bug you later, then. There’s going to be a lot of words flowing shortly anyway. And if you’ve been away as much as it seems, I think you have some catching up to do. I’ve been a bit busy. I’m not even going to apologize 🙂

          • lmao I want ABJECT apologies please!!!!!!!!!!!!!

            Bug me any time 😉

            I look forward to words and yeah been away but a bit of drama going on here .. of alllll sorts (gah) hence my absence … but I do check in / read.. for all may not say much!

          • Julie says:

            You can want all the abject apologies you want, as long as you promise NOT to hold your breath waiting for them 😉

            Hope everything settles down for you, and I promise, your commentary has been missed, my dearest Kiwi, but I do understand how life has this evil tendency to get in the way. *hugs*

          • Shit. My Mum never bought the breath holding thing either …………………. sigh

  2. Lack of patience isn’t necessarily a bad thing. If you’re feeling that desperate to start working on something, then it’s obviously the right time to start writing!

    • Julie says:

      Lol, the problem with that yardstick is that I always seem to be desperate to work on everything, as you may have noticed by now. Drafts, edits, outlines, notes, you name it. That said, I do agree that you should work on stuff generally when you’re enthusiastic about it, as long as there isn’t a deadline forcing you to work on something else. Thanks for the encouragement to just go for it, though. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Where In The World Are They « Word Flows

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

