My Distractions Are Failing

It’s definitely been a productive weekend, or at least, that’s the way a sane, reasonable person would regard it.  Being neither, I generally feel like I should have done more.  I think I’ve mentioned before about being too hard on myself.  It’s what drives me forward, but sometimes it’s what drives me crazy too, because part of me knows I’m being unreasonable.

I’ve done a fair bit of work on Necromantic, mostly in bits and pieces, but some of it is more solid work.  As my update to my Project Status page mentions, I’m now outlining Necromantic, even as I’m still feeling out the world to some extent.  There are a couple of reasons for this.  One of them is that the early parts of the story for the first book is starting to take shape and I don’t want to lose it.  I like what’s coming up too.  I think this is going to be a bit of a wild ride. The other main reason is that I’ve reached the point with my world-building where it’s a matter of relevance.  I don’t do the kind of encyclopaedic world-building I’ve heard some people talk about doing.  After a certain point, if it isn’t relevant to the story, I tend not to be that interested.  That’s not to say I’m not open to figuring out stuff I eventually realize has a lot to do with the story.  I guess mostly I just don’t go out of my way to do it after that point unless I become aware of a hole in the story (it’s happened a number of times). So Necromantic has now reached said point, the needs of the story being the driving factor behind world-building from this stage onward.  I have found out some interesting stuff lately, and the story itself has evolved.  This is not what I had originally expected to be writing, but I think this is going to turn out better anyway.  At least this time, I didn’t have to write a whole draft to find out that the story wasn’t what I thought it was.  That’s important progress for me as a writer, right? 🙂

A further note, I think that Necromantic may end up being more the name of the trilogy than any individual volume, and this is definitely more than one book.  I’m fairly certain trilogy is where it’s going to land.  I think that’s just how my brain is structuring most of my ideas at the moment.  Not that I mind, as it gives me more to do and it’s a structure I understand from far too many years of reading fantasy and science fiction trilogies.  In any case, I’ve thought of potentially decent titles for the 3 volumes, but I’m not going to say anything more about them (like what they are) until I’ve had a few days to live with them and see if I still like them.  I’ll have to let you know.

In other news, I pulled out that blurb for Bound, made a few minor changes, but found that I still like it.  I’ve sought a couple of opinions on it and it may show up here soon for a more public testing/release.  It feels like an important step toward publishing the book (my first too, eep), and I think the next step is going to be getting on top of that cover.  I’m still debating a couple of choices and haven’t gotten around to emailing any of them.  Last week was pretty much the week from hell at work, so I’ve let myself go a little easier this weekend in order to recover a bit from that.

I think the really hard thing right now is that screaming need I currently feel to do another pass of editing with Possession, even though I know I shouldn’t, that it hasn’t been long enough since I finished the last one.  Failing that, I want to reread the outline for The Nine.  Okay, really I want to just start writing that one, but I found that rereading the outline for Possession helped, so I’m going to force myself to stick to that formula on this.  I wonder if all this is because  I now have about three or four things in the drawer, depending on how you want to define things.  Bound is technically in there as I’m not editing it any further until I have feedback on it.  I’m even trying to keep from rereading that one, but I suspect my ability to hold out on that is running out fast.  Possession is in there, the outline for The Nine is too, and now the blurb for Bound.  It’s a full drawer and now the stuff in it is trying to overflow the drawer.  I should have picked a bigger desk, with bigger drawers… Well, I guess I should just be happy to have so much to do, but it seems that none of it is helping to keep my mind off of the myriad things I want to do and shouldn’t.  Stupid multi-tasking brain.  Grrrr.

In other news, the weekend was also a little productive photography-wise.  We had some sun yesterday 😮 and I took advantage of it, going out for a walk with the camera.  Just a street over and up half a block, one of the other apartment buildings in my neighbourhood has a cherry tree out front.  🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Distractions Are Failing

  1. Ben says:

    as someone who eventually wants to get back into novel-length storywriting, I really love reading about what you’re thinking about and going through, juggling writing with full-time work 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! Honestly, I started this blog as a place for me to work out what I was thinking about, and picked it back up again for NaNo last year to keep me moving toward the goal. It always surprises me that people enjoy my crazy stories about my writing, but your comment makes it make a little more sense to me, for my fellow writers anyway. As long as people are taking away things they can learn, apply or be encouraged by, I guess I must be doing something right. 😀

  2. Hmmmm…I’m beginning to think you may finally have gone around the bend. But, it happens to us all eventually, so better sooner than later, if’n you ask me, if’n.

    I need to get back to work on my novel. Having a job again is throwing everything out of whack. But eventually I shall force things back into whack, until a full state of whackocity has been achieved, yes yes.

    I enjoy certain aspects of worldbuilding and it, somewhat, drives my writing, but other aspects (geography, politics, economics) intimidate me horribly.

    • Julie says:

      You know, I suspect I’m not the only one gone around the twist here. Finding that balance when you have work and writing (which I tend to treat as another full-time job) is difficult. It’s a little easier for me than some because I have no kids and no spouse/significant other, which leaves me a lot more free time to devote to writing.

      I agree with you that some aspects of world-building are more interesting than others, but I think it’s partly about what interests you personally. I tend to enjoy economics and politics, strangely, so I enjoy including those in my world.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

