Fireworks In My Head

Yeah, I know, three posts in three days, kinda crazy.  I don’t know if it’s from seeing the end of the story for the Mirrors trilogy, or just finally turning my mind to something completely different, but my mind’s been on overdrive today.  I mean, totally just exploding inside my skull.  The good kind of explosion though, not the kind that leads to said brain leaking out of one or both ears.

I can say for sure that Necromantic is just book one of a trilogy.  I was right about there being a bigger story here, and now I’ve got a general notion of what it is too.  I’m doing a small bit of notes on the other two while I have some idea of the general shape of it, but I’m not going to go overboard on them, as I need to do the first book first.  It’s amazing how that works, doing them in order.  I’m just amazed at how much more complex this story is becoming with every bit I piece together, every thought I add to my notes.  I was doing some of it at lunch at the day job today, and I could barely write fast enough to keep up.  I’m going to have to transcribe everything into the Outliner file for this.

I must have forgotten this in some ways while I was working on the Mirrors of Bershan trilogy, but world-building can be exciting.  I’m not overly detailed about it, figuring things out as they come up or become meaningful, but even then, one thought will lead to another, which leads to a new idea, then another thought… It just goes on and it’s pouring out of me.  I mean, wow.  Hell, I just went out to do a couple of errands and on the way, I think I figured out the ENDING of Necromantic and it’s delightfully not at all what I expected, but is better for that and makes a lot of sense with the parts of the story I’m sure of.  It’s like Devan’s rewarding me for finally giving him the attention he always wanted.  It’s a wonderful feeling, and it’s keeping me away from Possession and the outline of The Nine quite nicely.  This may, in fact, keep me busy for quite a while.  Devan doesn’t seem like the type to let go easily. Hmm, I may have to have a chat with him when I am ready to write The Nine…

However, there are a couple of things that I do want to mention before certain friends of mine explode in impatience (if she hasn’t already, which is possible).  First, I’m working on the blurb for Bound.  I did sort of a first draft of it last night.  I say sort of because I distinctly remember doing a draft of it at one point in the last month or so, but now I can’t find it anywhere at all.  Oh well.  I have a new version of it which, at first glance, looks pretty good.  That is also in the drawer now (or will be as soon as I type it up, which I didn’t last night as I was too busy with Devan), to be re-examined and edited in a week or so.  The drawer seems to be filling up rapidly.  I think I may need a bigger drawer for all this.

Also, I’m looking into my options regarding getting a cover done, and maybe manuscript formatting too.  I’m certain I’d like to get the cover done by someone who has the proper tools and knows what they’re doing, because I’ve seen some crappy covers out there and I’d prefer Bound got a decent cover.  I’m willing to fork over a certain amount of cash even to get that expertise, as I know I don’t have it and therefor respect those who do.  I’ve mostly narrowed it down to a couple of choices, but I need to get in touch with them about it, to see what they think and what their availability is like.  I don’t want to pull the trigger too soon on that, as I’m not sure how feedback may or may not change the novel.  I’m not anticipating significant plot changes at this point, but you never really know.  As far as the formatting for ebook that you can get from some folks, I’m less certain I want to pay for that, as I’m pretty sure I can do that one myself.  I’ll have to mull that one over for a while before I decide.  But, barring major and unexpected catastrophe, my hope is to have Bound up in the e-book stores by the end of the summer.  No holding me to that if something does come up though.  I have not made ANY promises here.

There’s more on my mind, more things I want to say and share, though those things are more in the nature of thoughts on crafting stories and characters as I go about doing it again, but I think I’ll leave that to another blog post.  It’ll give me some time to think a bit more about it, and no, that doesn’t mean I’m posting tomorrow.  Well, okay, I might, but I might not.  We’ll see.

This picture is one that took me some work to get.  The shadows and light in it didn’t want to cooperate until I finally got around to the right place to shoot from.  I may not like spiders, but their webs can be fantastic camera fodder.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

