Diving Into The Drawer

I’ve officially begun the first pass of editing for Possession and so far, it’s going well.  And by going well I mean that I meant to do one chapter last night after work.  I did three instead 🙂  I, um, got a little carried away.  I blame Tavis (if he’s always right, it must also occasionally be his fault, in fairness).  No, I didn’t forget to edit while going through it, but I just found myself rolling from one chapter to the next… to the next.  In fact, I had to force myself to stop at the end of the third.  I find I lose my edge when editing after a couple chapters, even with breaks.

I’m also working on the outline of The Nine concurrent with this editing, and that’s going well too.  It’s definitely going to be a challenge to write, but that’s part of the fun to me, pushing yourself further.  I’m having a little fun trying to figure out and research something for the story that I have absolutely zero experience with, and I may need to find someone with experience to ask them about it before I actually write this.  We’ll see.  Yes, I know I’m being vague about what it is, but it’s because I don’t want to give away something that happens at the end of Possession.  Really don’t want to give that away.

I have to say, I think it’s going to be a productive long weekend for me, just from looking at the forecast.  Rain today, tomorrow and Sunday.  And as much as I love the rain, I tend to stay indoors when it’s falling and I don’t have a pressing need to go out (like food for the starving writer).  Oh well, at least I’ll have a good time editing and outlining.  I think I’m actually nearing the end of the outline, especially with the not so minor detail for the end I realized as I was trying to fall asleep last night.  I still have to build it in, but it kinda knocked my socks off, so to speak.

I also spent a bunch of time reading last night, which was rather wonderful.  I’m still making my way through Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy, but I think I’m almost done the second book.  I’ve noticed something interesting with ebooks.  I never know for sure how much book is left.  My Kobo (the only ereader I have much experience with) tells me how many pages are left in a chapter, but not how many are left in the book.  I’m actually delighted by this, because I no longer look at how many pages are left and think that I must be getting near the end. In fact, I have no idea where I am.  It’s up to the writing to tell me that, and it’s making me more aware of how rising and falling actions and build up to the end get crafted as a writer.  It’s been an interesting experience that way.  Excellent series, this one, I have to say.  I’m going to be sad to have it end, but that’s what rereading is for 🙂

All in all, I’m feeling pretty good this morning.  I don’t think it’s just the start of the long weekend, either.  Things are just going well in my writing life, and that always makes me happy.  Now if I could just figure out what I want to put on the cover of Bound when I (almost certainly) epub it and how to get exactly what I want, I’ll be laughing. 🙂  One thing at a time though.  It’s still a bit early to work on that, as I’m not sure that I’m done with the manuscript.  I’ll drive myself nuts if I try to go in too many directions at once, even if that is my specialty. 🙂

Finally, today’s picture.  I love these flowers, but I don’t remember seeing them much at all in Ontario.  Just another reason to love Vancouver.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Diving Into The Drawer

  1. Sounds like you have a fab weekend ahead!

    Curse that rain forcing you to stay inside and read or write!! 😉

    Is there a local delivery take out joint you can rely on to prevent the writer from starving!?

    • Julie says:

      There’s a fabulous italian place that’s only a couple of minutes walk from my home. The intercom on my apartment doesn’t work, which leads to me not ordering food in. Hmm, mb lasagna is in order tonight. Theirs usually feeds me for about 3 days (really good, really hearty).

      And I know, it’s a tragedy that I have to sit here and work on writing. I’m ever so heartbroken.

      I have to stop spilling sarcasm everywhere, it makes a mess.

      • Oh damn @ intercom not working!! I’d be devastated if I couldn’t use mine .. sheesh woman.

        And yes, poor baby indeed hahah .. “enjoy” the rain, I won’t mention that it’s a stunning, sunny Saturday here and I am off to go lay in the sun and work on my tan.. 😉

        • Julie says:

          I don’t do tanning. If I try, I turn very Canadian colours. Bright red, and white where my clothes cover me. Besides, keep in mind, it’s winter in my part of the world, so rain isn’t so bad. It could be snow 😮

          • LMAO @ patriotic tanning! I am lucky, I brown up nicely in the sun if done carefully.. Speaking of which, tis just after 11am – the sun will be at it’s peak potential for frying this kiwi over the next few hours – back later 😉

  2. I seem to be overcome with Canadians of late. Glad to hear things are going well. I’ve paused my novel to do revisions on a short story and figure out exactly what happens next in the novel. I know there’s a monster, but I can’t actually see the darn thing yet. Also percolating an idea for a Jersey Devil story. And I finally found a job so work will be cutting into my writing time somewhat but, all for the best.

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, we Canadians are everywhere 🙂 We’re sneaky like that.

      I find the same thing in a way, that ideas come when I’m thinking of something else. It’s probably why I tend to work on at least two things at once. When I run into a wall on the thing I’m editing, I can switch to the one I’m outlining. Go from notes to writing, or the reverse. It does seem to work for me.

      And I totally hear you about jobs cutting into writing time. I had that happen last week, and Monday will probably be at least limited for writing time due to work stuff. Oh well, it pays the bills at least.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

