Decelerating For My Sanity

No one laugh at the title. Yeah, I heard that snort in the back, I mean you too.  I know I am not possessed of sanity in any way, shape or form, but saying it was to minimize the insanity would have made the title entirely too long.

I’ve been slowly banging away at the outline for The Nine.  It’s going slowly, but this is a stage where rushing is bad anyway, so I’m trying to embrace that, and use the time to recharge as well.  I’m trying to get that foot off the gas, but it’s a bit of an internal struggle.  I feel like I should be working more, working harder, and it’s kind of BS, really, because I think a fair bit about the story and what I need to do, how things are going to unfold.  What I really need to do is remind myself that this is valid work. I know it is intellectually, but somehow that isn’t making as much of a difference as I might have hoped.

It probably doesn’t help that I’m now feeling a burning need to read through Possession and start editing, but I think it’s too soon right now, so I’m trying to restrain myself.  Again, it’s about learning to get that foot off the gas.  This is definitely not my strong suit in life. :p Oh well, at least I know what I need to work on, I guess.  Maybe I can soothe myself into some semblance of patience by rereading the first book?

I’ve also been making some notes and thinking deep thoughts about the story and characters in Necromantic.  The world too, which kind of shapes some of the other things.  I think the thing I’m finding most interesting about it is the nature of magic in it.  Instead of being just one big bucket of “magic” that can generally do anything you might need, I’m making it a bit more narrow this time, specific types of magic for certain people, with both good points and limitations.  Right now, there’s 4 types, but there might be another one or two out there.  I’m not certain yet.  I’m definitely developing this world more fully before working out the story, though doing so is leading me to make notes on the story.  I find this is good because I firmly believe that they should feed each other, that the world has to be part of the shaping of the story and the story should also drive some the things within the world, especially where things change as the story progresses.

Oh, there’s one other thing that I’d like to announce, before I wander off to spend the rest of the day immersed in Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy (fantastic so far, btw).  At least some of you might recall the hatred I had developed for the title of Book One in the Mirrors Trilogy, Dark Mirror.  I’m not going to go into the myriad reasons for it again, as that would just be beating a dead horse, and I don’t feel like it anyway.  Instead, I’m going to let you in on the new title, one that works much better and fits the story in a way the old one never did.  I’m now certain enough of it to share, so here it is.  Book One is now, at last, retitled, and will be going forward as Bound.  I will, of course, let you know how things proceed from here as they unfold, but just keep in mind that I’ll be referring to it by the new title from now on.  I’ve updated the Project Status page with that (and a few other things), but I do that fairly often without bothering to announce it.

Oh, and, of course, today’s picture.  This one I took during the cherry blossom season last year.  It’s almost that time again now.  I’ve seen the trees budding around here.  I suspect I’ll be out with my camera before too long, to take some for this season.  I didn’t have the macro lens last year, so it’ll be interesting to see the results this year.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Decelerating For My Sanity

  1. Em says:

    Don’t reread the first book right now! You’ll wind up wanting to change things. You know as well as I do that writers can’t leave well enough alone! 🙂

    Also, as I’ve told you before, I love the new title. Works very well. Perhaps I’ll be able to get you to help me come up with a title for mine (right now it is entitled “Work in progress 2012” :P)

    • Julie says:

      I don’t know, I’ve managed to reread Cost of Duty in the last few days without wanting to change it. I’m inordinately happy with how that one turned out, no matter what happens with WOTF. I might be able to read Bound without changing anything.

      As for your working title, I couldn’t do that. If I did, I’d be making notes for “WIP 2012 Number 2” and thinking about “WIP 2012 Number 3”, as I’m fairly sure I’ll be getting to Necromantic this year. Even a short, or later ill-fitting working title is better than nothing to me. I need something more, I guess.

      Oh, and if you want my help with a title, you’ll have to send the book to me 😀

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

