My Version of a Vacation

So, after getting up and having coffee, I sat down at my computer and did it again.  Yup, the first draft of Possession is now done, in the books, archived, backed up and set for editing.  Not that I’m going to dive into that today, or even tomorrow.  I’m going to try to leave this for a week, maybe two, depending on what I have to do that might keep me occupied and how long my supply of LifeintheFarceLane’s patience as well as my own self-control hold out.  I don’t think I’ll make it that far, from past experience, but I’m going to try.

The manuscript weighs in at 82,682 words, 338 pages of manuscript format.  It’s close to the size of the first book, but this is only the first draft. If the last one is any indication, I tend to underwrite and add about 10% in editing, so this may end up in the 90k+ range when I’m done tuning it.  I am not entirely happy with the ending (thus the struggles of the last couple days), so I know that will be rewritten eventually, and almost certainly end up longer. That is exactly what happened with the ending of DM in the second draft, so it doesn’t surprise me.  I’m still new at endings, and apparently it takes me a couple tries to get them right.  I wonder how long I can get away with that excuse.  How many does it take to become experienced at them? 5? 6? Gulp, 20? I’ll have to let you know when I get there. 😀  I will say that my overall level of satisfaction with this draft is good, at least, and I don’t foresee the need to toss the draft and rewrite it all like I did with DM.  But then, I made an error in something completely fundamental to the world in the first draft of that book, which is why it had to be entirely rewritten, and those kinds of things are supposed to be worked out before you get to book 2 ideally.

I am going to give myself the rest of the day off from writing, except in the case of spontaneous surprise attacks by ideas.  I always brake for those, because they’re worse than hitting full-grown deer.  They always total the writer’s brain when you ignore them.  One way or another, they get their own back on you, even if it’s that perpetual feeling of having had something great only to find it slipped through your fingers. I’m actually going to try to take a few days off, given how hard I’ve been pushing myself for about four months now, but we all know my ability to walk away from writing even temporarily is nearly non-existent.  I think some reading, maybe some gaming (which I haven’t done in a couple of weeks), is in order.  I’d go out and get myself something special for dinner tonight to celebrate, but the wind outside is making an attempt to blow my apartment building over, and the buzzer for my apartment doesn’t work, so delivery is out as an option.  Damn. Maybe tomorrow I’ll treat myself to lunch out at my favourite fancy burger joint.

Devan’s been back around last night and this morning, whispering. A lot.  I swear, he knows when The End is coming on whatever project I’m working on and pounces.  I wonder if that’s a necromancer thing.  But in any case, he’s making noise again, whispering more secrets, surprising me even further, even though I pointed out to him that I still have to write The Nine at least before it’s his turn. He needs his own supply of patience.  That said, I’m looking forward to it being his turn.  I was rereading my notes for Necromantic and I forgot how much I like (love) him, and the story shaping up around him.

I think that’s all there is to report. I hadn’t actually expected to be making this post until tomorrow, but somehow I thought I had more ending to write than it turned out.  Maybe that’s part of why I’m not happy with the ending, the feeling that it’s missing something.  Oh well, that’s something I can mull while I’m NOT editing that beast, and then work out when it’s time to tackle the task.  In the meantime, I’m off to give my brain a much needed, deserved break.  I will say, though, the thrill of writing The End still hasn’t gotten old, even though I’ve done it 3 times now in fairly rapid succession. I doubt it ever will, though.

I’ll probably take the opportunity tomorrow to catch up on a couple of other posts that I need to take care of, but have been too busy writing to get to. I have 2 awards and a tag to deal with.  It all piles up when you’re busy banging away at the keyboard for other things.

Before I forget, let me leave you with another picture. I think I may do up a page for these, collect them into a gallery of past ones, maybe.  It’s getting harder to remember which ones I’ve posted already. I’m going to need to figure out a system of some kind.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Version of a Vacation

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Congrats on getting through the first draft! A little break is good for the soul—and the Muse. The ending will take shape. Maybe subconsciously you know there’s something earlier on you’ll revise, and that will affect the final action.

    The wind’s blowing like crazy here, too. And it’s not even March! 😉

    • Julie says:

      The very end will be the same no matter what, because it’s something that absolutely HAS to happen. But I suspect that what’s there will get massaged and expanded out. The ending on DM actually got a knot tied in it by the time I was done rewriting it. It was rather fun. But yeah, I think I do need the break. I’m just not sure how long my muse or my characters will let me have. They’re demanding buggers.

  2. Em says:

    So proud of you! I need you to send some of that productivity my way!

    (also, now waiting for more mail from you. :P)

    • Julie says:

      See, I’m not the only one who needs a supply of patience. It’ll probably take me a month or so to clean this up, maybe longer. I’m not even sure yet. And by then, you’re going to be a little busy.

      But thanks for being proud of me, and if I could send you some of this productivity, I’d use it. Maybe then I wouldn’t be fighting a burning need to keep working on something, anything today. :p

  3. 4amWriter says:

    Congratulations, although I’ll say I had no doubts you would get through it. Taking a break now is a great idea, healthy and soul-loving. Enjoy!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks Kate! It actually felt a little sinful (in a wonderful way) to take yesterday off from writing entirely, other than a couple of random ideas for things already in motion. I may continue that today, even. 🙂

  4. Came across your blog while surfing through others. So you’re a serious writer…in the sense that you have already published books and all. Somehow, although I’ve thought about it many times, the idea scares me stiff. But its very interesting to read about the way you go about it. All the best with your new draft.:-)

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. As for my writing career, I’m not published, but this is the second one I’ve written. The first is likely to come out later this year, unless I radically change my mind about it going out as a self-pub’d ebook. That said, I think serious writers aren’t just the published ones. I think that’s more about the priority you put on working at it. My 2 cents.

      Trust me, though, I was scared stiff just before I wrote the first one. I just decided to do it anyway. What did I have to lose except my own time, after all?

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

