Ow, Er, I Mean Wow

I’m waiting for the day my brain goes on strike, instead of just adjusting to the new normal every time I push it that little bit further.  Surely it’s going to happen any day now, especially after yesterday.  It’s been a fantastic weekend so far, but I’m not sure I’ll have a mind left to work with on Monday at this rate.  Oh well, it’s only work, right?

I’ll be totally honest, this weekend has been one of those rare times where I feel like I’ve wrapped myself so deep in the story that there’s almost no world outside of it.  Right at the moment, I wish I didn’t have to go to work tomorrow, because I desperately don’t want to have to climb out of Possession for that.  The title is starting to feel very… apt. I don’t think I’ve ever felt this involved with my own story.  I’ve felt involved in stories before, certainly, but only with other writers, stories not my own. The very idea that I’m this enthralled leaves me more than a bit breathless.

Before you wonder, no, I don’t think it’s perfect. By now, those of you not new to this blog should know me far better than that. For any new to this party, let me assure you, I’m far and away my own worst critic. There are some parts that are definitely first draft quality, in all it’s warts and roughness, and that I will certainly have to work on when I get to the editing stage (no, we are not yet taking bets on how short a time I will be able to leave this one in the draw :p). But the story itself, the whole, and the way that whole is unfolding in the act of making it concrete… Dear god, I am without words to describe it at the moment.  Hmm, that’s very un-writerly of me. I need more superlatives and the confidence to use them on my own work.  Anyone have some of either I can borrow, emphasis on the second part of the request?

One word of warning, when it comes time for people reading this.  I think that, by the end of this, I’m going to owe Fay something far bigger than an apology for what I’m in the process of doing to her.  I actually feel a little guilty, though part of that is because, due to their relationship, when I do bad things to her, Tavis catches some of it too, and I like Tavis.  Okay, more than like. Totally not the point. 🙂

Okay, now that I’m done mooning over myself, my story and Tavis and Fay (and the rest), let’s get the specifics in.  Yesterday was a new record for me, and I can’t quite believe that I did this, but somehow, I managed to write two chapters, 9 and 10, with a total of 7,173 words.  Yes, in one day.  Would you believe my brain only hurt a little?  Of course, it was a puddle on the floor, so maybe I just couldn’t feel the pain.  For today, not quite as much writing since Sunday is chores day for me. Chapter 11 is in the bag, with 3,657 words written for the day. I might write some more this evening, but that means starting a chapter I won’t be able to finish (and still be able to get up in the morning for work). This brings me to a total for the whole book written thus far of 44,072 words. I think I’m almost or around halfway, but I’m not even sure of that.  It’ll be however long it needs, but it’s fun to watch the total shoot up.

Oh, and, in the middle of all that, Sketh showed up yesterday and whispered a secret to me before slinking off. I missed him, blades, bad attitude and all. And I had a fairly major realization on The Nine, which is actually better, since that’s pretty much what’s up next.  I’ve promised myself that I will finish the trilogy at least before letting any other characters take over my brain entirely.  Trust me, that’s harder than it sounds (Devan, cut that out!)

Finally, to share with you another of my photographs. I have to say, I really do appreciate the comments and support on this aspect. I find it harder to share my photography than my writing. It isn’t that I care about the photography more (There is literally nothing I care about more than writing, which explains the amount of my life I’m dedicating to it these days), but that I have far less confidence in my camera work. I’ve had friends prodding me for a few years to share my pictures, where I require almost no prodding to share my writing. Or to talk about my writing, as you just might have noticed.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ow, Er, I Mean Wow

  1. jmgershom says:

    I’m glad that you found that special groove that makes writing almost effortless. As for the puddle, I hope it wasn’t from actually not taking a potty break. I know how it is when you don’t want to leave your story. 😀

    I like your photograph, the colors are nice to look at with all white snow around. I take photographs too, but I don’t share much on my blog since it’s geared more for writing. Maybe I should though.

    Good luck with the rest of your first draft! ;D

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. And the puddle was my brain, sadly, the state I left it in last night. I should be kinder to it, cause I’m going to need it for the rest of forever, but, well, that just wouldn’t be me.

  2. winsomebella says:

    Can I borrow a wee bit of that flow?? And yes, do keep sharing the pics 🙂

  3. 4amWriter says:

    Hi Julie,

    I absolutely love it when I can get a couple of uninterrupted days of pure writing bliss. What you describe sounds so heavenly! When the kids were younger and took naps, that was my time to nestle into my study and write. I miss that.

    Sounds like everything is going the way you want, so that is awesome!

    When I’m feeling productive, effective, and confident in my writing, then I like to say that I’m the Queen of my writing castle. I just feel like everything is absolutely perfect when my writing is spot on. So, to me, Julie–you’re the Queen of your writing castle!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! I tend to think of my apartment more in the style of writing cave (one room living will do that to you) but I like the Queen of my castle idea. 🙂

      I’ll be honest, the one thing that’s not going the way I want it is the lack of fairy helpers to go out and do my errands for me. Every time I plan to do one, the book distracts me…

  4. Pete Denton says:

    WOW. That is some zone to get into for one day. I’ve had days like that when the words just flow out of you and nothing else intervenes. Good days and long may they continue. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I don’t normally manage to get into quite that good a groove, but I’d been thinking about those parts for a while, so I guess I had them pretty well formed in my mind. 🙂 Now to make it through the week before I have a chance to try to do it again.

  5. I continue to be very amazed at you, Julie. The most words I ever wrote in a single day was a bit over 8000, but that was only because it was the last day of Nanowrimo 2010 and I needed that much to catch up. It took me literally all day–9 am to 9 pm. So yeah, I have a very good idea of how hard it is to write that much and I just have to say . . . Wow. The way you keep chugging those words out is very inspiring. Good luck and keep it up!

    • Julie says:

      Hey! Long time no see! Thanks. And you have to remember, every fresh draft is a NaNo for me. I’ve got a higher goal these days, but it’s still me doing 30 days of write-my-brains out. That’s why the totals keep looking like stuff you do during NaNo. 🙂

      • Yeah, sorry. I get busy, my blog reading falls behind. Ah well. Still, I am very much impressed by you, especially considering I did. not. get. a. single. word. written. this. week. Ouch. So yeah. Oh, and I like your photography! I think the pictures you post are SO pretty and cool 🙂

        • Julie says:

          Oh, that’s okay. Life happens, including causing days/weeks where you don’t manage the writing you want to.

          And thanks! I’ll admit I only post the best of my work, but I think everyone does that when they share any kind of art.

  6. jmmcdowell says:

    I don’t think there’s anything like the feeling a writer gets when the words flow like water. So drink it up and enjoy!

    • Julie says:

      Agreed. The high is… addictive. And bad for me since I keep getting too wrapped up to remember to eat. That’s the positive side of having the day job, it forces me to eat lunch at least. 😀

  7. Em says:

    Awesome zone to be in, glad you’re enjoying the ride so much! I think I need to borrow some of that word flow as well!

  8. Very nice place you’ve got here. I love the theme, very pretty and soothing.
    There’s nothing quite like having a story grasp you with its tentacles and compel you onward like some sort of…compelling…tentacled…thing. I’ve had the experience several times in the last few months and produced a number of stories of which I am quite fond, and at an unprecedented speed. Those times when everything else is an interruption and all you want is to get to the next scene…it’s fantacular.
    It appears we share, perhaps, a slight fixation on the number nine.
    I don’t know much about photography, but that floral shot you post here does seem to meld with your page in a seamless and pleasant fashion.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I’ve occasionally thought of changing the theme, just for something different, but I can’t bring myself to do it. I love this one. It’s very me. Trust me.

      I love being grabbed by my story too, but the problem is that lately, a few of them have been fighting over me and I think they might just tear this poor writer apart. I need more writing time. Like more than 24 hours per day, that would work. The number thing is unusual. I rarely worry about numbers of things, but in this case, it ended up as a title for a reason, some of which are obvious, some less so, even to me. Of course, I haven’t even started writing The Nine yet, or outlining it. That’s next, since it’s the close of the trilogy.

      As for the picture, thank you. I think knowing what you like is enough in most arts, really.

  9. subhanzein says:

    When you said, “I’ve wrapped myself so deep in the story that there’s almost no world outside of it” it reminds me of Orhan Pamuk. He said that when you are fully absorbed with the story you created and see the stories the way your characters see it, you are an implied writer.

    I guess in a quite similar case I’d like to say that you are an implied writer! Congratulations!! 🙂

    Warm regards,

    Subhan Zein

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

