Getting My Groove On

I know I just posted yesterday, but we all know (or are about to learn) that I like to do a weekend recap when I’m doing a NaNo, so here it is for this weekend.

I’m off to a good start so far on Possession.  No really mind-blowing days, but that’s okay, because it’s only day 3 and I’d like to still have a functional mind over the next however long to write the rest of the novel with.  So far this is shaping up to be a better first draft than the actual first draft of Dark Mirror, and that’s an encouraging sign.  I’ve learned a lot since then and I can feel that, with the questions I’m asking myself while I write and the way it’s unfolding.  Yesterday, after writing the post for here, I did 3,323 words, which was all of Chapter 2, and today I’ve managed to get Chapter 3 written, all 4,567 words of it (it’s a long one).  This gives me a total so far of 11,411 words for the book, which is entirely respectable for 3 days of writing.

I’ve had to refer back to my most recent draft of Dark Mirror a couple of times in the last two days, to make certain of specific detail (i.e. did Fay tell Tavis something explicitly or not) but that’s okay, because it doesn’t seem to be slowing me down.  I think part of the reason I’m not doing more of that is that I’ve spent a lot of time in January editing DM, with two separate passes, and I did plenty of checking or notes while I was doing the outline for Possession, and that helps too.  It hasn’t disrupted the rhythm I’m starting to get back into from my last NaNo, when I was doing the second draft of DM. It’s actually quite nice to find myself falling back into that groove so easily.  I’d kind of wondered how hard it would be to get back into the daily writing routine after a month away, and am glad it hasn’t been hard at all.  This coming week will be more of an acid test, with the whole routine of work, come home, write starting again, but I think I’m up to it.  It’s not as if I haven’t been doing some version of it through January.  It was just more of an edit or outline version of it, rather than actual writing (except for the day of the short story, of course), that’s all. I’d like to mention that I’m not the only one getting back into the groove.  Jay, one of my two cats, is already helping me write more by sleeping on my legs, just like last time.  He’s too cute to move when he does that, so I figure I might as well just keep writing since I’m pinned in front of the netbook. *shrugs*

In addition to all of this (No, I don’t ever slow down.  It’s so  I don’t have time to realize how much I’m doing), I’ve been continuing to make notes on Necromantic.  It’s unfolding beautifully, and I think my subconscious may totally be on Devan’s side when it comes to being impatient for me to start writing this one.  That said, I’ve paid the price of starting too early a number of times (dead, unfinished novels that started out as good but under-developed ideas) to want to risk it with this one.  It’ll be a bit demanding on me when I do go to write it, but I think I’ll be experienced enough by then that I can do it, if I make sure I do enough prep work. I’m not sure how much longer it will be before I open an Outliner file for this one, but I doubt it will be that long.  I give it another week, maybe, at the rate it’s been going.

And, before I toddle off for the night to rest my weary brain, today’s picture:

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Getting My Groove On

  1. [Shovelling waves of motivation your way] – good luck, sounds like you’re doing a great job so far, so you just need to keep it up!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! After the past few months spent on drafts and edits for Dark Mirror, it feels both odd and wonderful to be writing the first draft of something else, even if it’s a related story.

  2. 4amWriter says:

    Great job! I am so excited for you and your February challenge. 11,411 words in 3 days is great! Keep up the good work and the good attitude!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! I’m fairly pleased with my progress so far myself, though there’s still a long way to go, so I’m trying to temper my enthusiasm kind of like a banked fire. It does help that I’m fairly happy with the draft so far (yeah, I’ve peaked a bit, but only for short bits :))

  3. Pete Denton says:

    11k for three days is a fantastic start. I agree about letting your brain soak up enough of the story before starting to write. Good luck with this week’s writing.

    • Julie says:

      Yup. I do that even with the draft I’m working on. I tend to write for the day until I hit pace, or feel like I’ve done as much as my brain is ready for. Usually that second part is sometime after the first, thankfully. I stopped working last night at a relatively early hour for me, but the chapter was done and the brain said it was ready to be done. Besides, I need to make some notes and think about the next couple of chapters before I write them. They’re important, though for different reasons. Of course, I tend to think that *every* chapter should be important, or it shouldn’t be in the story, but the next couple set the main conflict in motion, so I guess that adds importance.

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Yes, definitely a fantastic start! I’d be happy for that to be a month’s production right now. Of course, I’m in revision mode, so writing is taking a backseat. Like Sally, sending lots of positive energy your way!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I have to say, I found that I learned some of my best lessons from revision mode, and it tends to be when I’m outlining, and building excitement to write whatever comes next, project-wise. I find it strange that I don’t dread any of the stages of writing. Of course, I don’t seem to be a heavy reviser either. I spent, what, January doing it, and that was it? Hmm, I wonder what that means.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

