Waiting To Get A Speeding Ticket

I titled this post this way for a reason.  I’m really waiting for that, for a speeding ticket for working too fast on my writing.  I’m sure there’s a cop around somewhere that handles that. Of course, if he’s cute, I might not mine. 😀 But now on to business.

My test readers have already been informed (one almost came through the internet to grab for the file I suspect), but I’ll announce it publicly here.  The edit of Dark Mirror is finished.  I’m done tinkering with it for a number of reasons, including that I think I’ve lost perspective on it.  No, that doesn’t mean that I think it’s awesome.  For me, losing perspective means I worry that it isn’t any good at all.  Yeah, I know, too hard on myself probably, definitely pessimistic, but what the hell else did you realistically expect from me?    No one has ever accused me of excessive optimism. In fact, I don’t know that I possess any at all, let alone a large amount of it.

I did try a new thing with this edit, one that I found tremendously helpful.  I read it out loud.  Thank god I don’t mind my speaking voice (unless you record it and play it back to me, at which point I promptly loathe it).  339 pages is a lot of reading, but it’s actually faster now than it was before.  I made fewer edits, but caught more repetitious language and what I would refer to as partial edits that got messed up.  By this I mean where you can see that a word you should deleted when you first edited a sentence got left, things like that.  It was an interesting exercise, one I would suggest for anyone who wants to try to find every little nit in the manuscript.  I had actually test-driven the read aloud thing with the short story, but doing it with a novel is a whole different thing, I found.  Still, I’m very glad I did it and I think that will become part of my regular editing tool kit.

The book currently stands at 83,333 words (I swear, that happened by accident), 20 chapters.  I’m not going to look at it while it’s with my test readers, because I don’t want to tinker with it while I wait for their comments.  Instead, it’s time to work on something else, time to dive back in again.  Yes, I’m referring to Possession.

Part of me is a bit nervous about starting the sequel while the first book isn’t technically finalized in case something important changes, but I have to keep busy, and that outline is begging me to turn it into a manuscript.  So is Tavis, for that matter, but I think that’s just because we get to see things from his POV for part of the book this time.  Okay, I got to on the first draft of DM too, but that got cut in the interests of being able to tell that story right.  This time, I don’t think I can do it without him.  Yay, more Tavis!  Sorry, very unprofessional of me to have a crush on my own character, I know, but… Maybe, if I’ve done a decent job on the first one, you might get the chance to understand why I like him so much.  I haven’t decided when I’m going to start, but it will be another write-a-thon (aka NaNo) for sure when I do sit down to write the first draft of Possession, probably mid-February.  It may take me all 30 days (or more) this time because it’s the first draft (as opposed to take 2) and I won’t be on vacation for half of it.  I’m reviewing the outline now so I can make these decision. I clearly don’t know how to take time off from my writing, even when I’m sick (like today). At least I can do all this while downing Citron Tea and laying in bed, so I’m sort of resting.  I’m only a workaholic with writing, I promise, and one day, you might thank me for it, or so I dream.

Beyond that, it’s time to start at least giving some serious thought to the plot structure for book 3, The Nine, so I’ll be ready to start working on the outline when I finish writing Possession.  Seriously, I might need help… Maybe I’ll just do some reading, before my head totally explodes.  Hmm.

No, I haven’t forgotten picture time (but you knew that because it always comes at the end of the post). I don’t remember where I shot this, other than somewhere in Toronto, but I love this picture for it’s combination of colour and texture.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Waiting To Get A Speeding Ticket

  1. I always find words that got left in sentences I’ve edited. Funny how reading out loud, or a critique partner, are the only ways to find them. And I think it’s absolutely professional to fall in love with our characters. I’m in love with all of my love interests. How could I not be? I made them strong and sexy! Good luck with your beta readers. I hope you get lots of good feedback.

    • Julie says:

      Oh boy, no encouraging me to want Tavis in ways like that. Not that I really need encouragement… And thanks for the wish of luck. I’m sure I will get good feedback from them, they did well by me on the short story they’ve done recently for me. 🙂

  2. I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader I wanna be a test reader ………….

  3. Love that you mentioned reading our own writing out loud. This has helped me tremendously & I think many writers would find it helpful.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. That’s one of the things I try to do here, share what works for me. It all comes with the very large asterisk telling you that your process may (and almost certainly will) vary, but reading what has worked for others has helped me, so I try to pass it on.

  4. Em says:

    The reading out loud thing is a great idea! I’ve noticed it a bit while in my writing courses but never even thought to use it as an editing tool. I’ll definitely be trying that one out!

    • Julie says:

      You’d be amazed how often you’ll catch repetitious words, partial sentences, total incoherencies, and further crap like that when you read it out loud. Like I said, it was a bit of a trip doing it for that lengthy a work, but I found it helped work little bugs out (or I so I devoutly hope). It’s those major bugs you have to watch out for though, because they’re the ones that bite you in the butt.

  5. Natasha says:

    Yayyyyy Julie!

    I’m so happy for you… What it must feel like to have it done and have others read it. You mentioned you are nervous..but I’m positive its going to be great!
    Its going to be a long way and time for me.. but its great to see another writer rock’in it!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks, Natasha. I think it’s mostly important that I step away from that story at the moment, because of that lost perspective. I did think it was pretty good, when I finished the draft. But I’ve edited it enough that all I can see are the pieces and the nits I find, the imperfections that every piece has. That’s when it’s time to let someone else tell you if you’re nuts or have done something better than you can believe.

      I refuse to let myself call it great at this point, but thank you for the vote of confidence. We’ll see what my test readers have to say. In the meantime, I should get back to reading that outline, but I’m finding myself distracted tonight by a few other things, some of them story related.

      I’m sure you’ll get there with your story though. Everyone works at a different pace. Find yours and flow with it. That’s all you can do. I’m just lucky, with my brain on fire these last few months (has it really only been that long? wow.)

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

