Rebel Without Applause at the VBAs

The Beach Writer was so very sweet to nominate me for the Versatile Blogger Award, which she recently received herself (well deserved, I might add).  I would definitely like to thank her for the recognition.  It’s always nice to know that others like the things you have to say, rather than just smiling and nodding at the screen when they see your post.

Now, I think I still have the instructions around here for this one. Right, here it is, I took a charcoal rubbing of the engraving last time, just in case this came up again (reading engraving is hard in the darkness of my blog theme, you know).

  1. Thank the award-giver and link back to them in your post. (Done)
  2. Share 7 things about yourself. (Thankfully, I’m not one of those shy writers)
  3. Pass this award along to 15 others. (I’m going to cheat a little here, as I’ve done this once before, so I may not get 15)
  4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award (I really should remember to do that more often)

So, now, talking about me… What don’t you already know?

  1. I’ve recently discovered Gotye, fabulous musician.  His song “Somebody That I Used to Know” has been spinning since I bought it last night.  Non-stop.  This may go on for a few days.  Sometimes that happens to me.
  2. When I’m not writing or gaming, I have a tendency to crochet, which a friend of mine and I call “Playing with Yarn.”  This term also applies to knitting.
  3. On the subject of knitting, I’ve been informed (repeatedly) by said friend that I knit “wrong.”  This is probably a result of teaching myself.  According to her, I knit a beautiful, single-sided pearl stitch (I think that’s what she said), but that I do it totally wrong.  It drives her into fits every time she sees my knitting, which I almost never do anyway.
  4. I’m rarely impressed by the things I do, but I still think the title of this blog kicks ass.  It’s also highly appropriate for the current state of my writing life, which is funny, since it was thought of while I was working on a now dead novel-attempt (55k, on a vast plain with no idea where I was going with it)
  5. I have a writing charm, a wonderful chain maille key chain with a dragon charm on it.  It was a Christmas gift this past year from my friend SJ and now it’s always at my side when I write/outline/make notes/do anything writing related.  I think I’m becoming almost as superstitious as baseball players (I promise, I change my socks regularly)
  6. A song I write to a lot, which I have spun for as much as two or three days straight (I lost count) is “Mmm, Skyscraper I love you” by Underworld.  And before you start doing the math on just how many times in a row that means I listened to it, keep in mind that the song is 13 minutes long. 😀
  7. I am unbelievably glad to be back to rain here in Vancouver, even though I forgot my umbrella at home yesterday, the day of the worst rain we’ve had in my area all fall and winter.  Figures. :p

And on to my own Noms, keeping in mind that 15 is entirely unlikely.  I do, however, have some new blogs I’ve discovered that I haven’t had a chance to share, so it works out in my books.

  1. Kayjai’s Blog
  2. On Diversion
  3. p u t n i k
  4. The Digital Bookshelf
  5. Simon Read
  6. jmmcdowell
  7. Ben Shotter’s Blog
  8. Gayle Francis Moffet

Well, I made it a little over halfway, which isn’t bad since I did the full 15 last time, so I’m up to 23 people I’ve nominated for this award.  Thank you, again, Beach Writer, for the award. Now, back to the grind.  Silly stories not writing themselves as I think of them…

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Rebel Without Applause at the VBAs

  1. love the title of this post (and the blog – smarty!) 😉

    Award filled year for you already, and so it should be..!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! I try to have a little fun with the awards posts (as you may have noticed already) as they’re a nice change of pace for me. I suspect I’ll eventually run out of inventive ways to title and do awards posts, but hopefully not soon. I mean, the writer should be able to get creative for a while with these.

      And you’re right, it’s been a very awarding start to the year, but I’ve noticed I’m not the only one. Oh, and I have officially decided not to ever drink coffee while reading your blog again. Too many near-snarfings of coffee. I’ll have to keep those two activities separate, for the sake of what pretends to be my sanity.

      • ROTFL .. I should post cilia warnings you reckon?

        Personally I am hurt and bewildered (bewildered, no less!) to think you would laugh at the pain and distress my life experiences cause me (shit I couldn’t actually finish that without giggling to myself .. )

        And yes – as a writer you better stay creative on the awards I suspect there will be more to come .. : )

      • Julie says:

        Yeah, I didn’t think that you’d be able to say that with a straight face. Besides, remember, in every situation you can laugh or cry, but you should always choose to laugh. It helps keep everything in perspective.

        As for warnings, I think I’m good, but your unsuspecting newer followers (yes, I’ve seen that number creeping up, Miss 300+) might need them. 🙂

      • A public health warning on my blog. Hmm I like it, something to work on one day ..

        For now tho I need to go get ready for my hottie date .. Should I be worried I’ve not heard from him since agreeing to do tea with him, so I have no idea when or where or what or even if….!?!?

      • Oh the 300 thing was a buzz beyond belief too!! It was painful, sat at 280 for aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaages LOL so weird to think that many people have taken a peek at my ramblings 🙂

      • Julie says:

        Ohh, DATE!!!!! Nice. One question. If you don’t know when or if, how do you know when to get ready for said date? That said, I expect a story later… 😀

  2. I bloody know!! Men suck … I got a text at lunchtime “wanna do dinner tonight?” I go back with “Do bears shit in the woods” (ok ok maybe not exactly those words .. more “I’d love to but not til after my boxing class” … and he goes “ok cool” .. then silence! I need time to prepare damnitall.. ah well, I will prepare and when he turns up he turns up (if?? eek) ..

    And if he doesn’t then I can update my blog comments cos I’m about a year behind. I have developed a bad habit of going for the latest ones and running behind on the others!!

    Have a lovely evening (must be bloody late there??)

    • Julie says:

      Only 10. I don’t usually go to bed until almost midnight. I’m not much for sleeping, even when not being whacked with insomnia (thankfully writing is my insomnia cure).

      As for what time, if you told him what time your boxing class ends (I love that you do boxing, btw), that might be a place to start, with at least a little time given for you to freshen up.

      • Oh .. so you’re 20 hours behind me .. good to know!

        Boxing is awesome (kick boxing, actually) If I have a bad day (or date!) boy does my trainer get his ass kicked lol .. I do one on one … and trust me .. he’s worth every penny heheh

        Is it just my imagination or are all writers bad sleepers??

        IS there a link between sleep and skill with the pen??

        Oh and he’s not coming to pick me up til 9 .. sigh .. so I have tons of time to prepare.
        Does he not know I am old and 9 on a SCHOOL night?
        Sheesh

  3. 20 hours? fk me .. Sorry I’m drinking LOL

    • Julie says:

      Actually, we’re on opposite sides of the dateline, I believe. And there’s no way I’m letting you get away with calling yourself old. Age really is just a number, all in your head, so I am officially labelling you 25. Oh, and you don’t have to grow up beyond that, ever, if you don’t want to. 😀

  4. Thank you so much for passing this award on to me over at the Digital Bookshelf. I’m very touched and grateful.

    I took up knitting when I was pregnant. My sisters all made fun of me, but they’re not laughing any more now they all have a pair of lovely hand-warmers keeping their hands nice and snug. I’ve even managed to knit a cardigan for the baby, which I’m unduly proud of. I keep on shoving it in people’s faces and saying, “Guess who knitted this?”

    Yes, definitely a cool name for your blog.

    I think if I totted up the number of words I’ve written on numerous novels to have never made it beyond the first draft it would make me want to cry – unless someone offered me a pound for each word of course, in which case I’d be rich, rich beyond my wildest dreams.

    • Julie says:

      I prefer to look at the similarly uncounted words I’ve spent on now-dead novel attempts as practice, because most of them taught me something. That said, my first completed draft taught me more than all the rest of them combined 😮

      You’re welcome for the award. I like the way you write and the things I’ve read so far. I’m looking forward to more.

  5. jmmcdowell says:

    Thank you for sharing the award with me! And, yes, great post title! I wish I could be that creative on the fly!

    Kudos to you, and keep blogging! (Oh, and writing the novel, too!)

    • Julie says:

      Thanks, and you’re welcome! I promise to keep both up, though now I’m more or less working on two novels. One editing, one outlining, maybe writing in the next month or so. And then there’s the short story… I like to keep busy.

      As for the post title, some of it was inspired by a line from a movie, and there was some time spent pondering it over a couple days. It’s not quite as on the fly as it looks 🙂

  6. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger | The digital bookshelf

  7. Ben Shotter says:

    Thankyou for nominating me! Made me smile. Will do the acceptance post shortly 🙂 And:
    I LOVE Mmm, sky scraper,I love you!

    And I see Elviiis and I hear god on the phone

    • Julie says:

      Yes!!!! I got to see Underworld in concert before they broke up, back when they were touring in support of Beaucoup Fish. Awesome freakin’ time! Danced for like 3 hours straight, non-stop. Didn’t realize how much my feet hurt until they stopped playing and I started trying to find my way to my car. Oww, feet. 🙂

  8. Thanks, Julie, for the mention and the award! It’s nice to be recognized by a fellow blogger. I’ll be posting something soon!

    Cheers,

    Simon

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

