Those Things You Learn To Live With

After a couple of posts about something other than writing, I guess that it’s time to let you know that I have actually been doing something other than blogging about the awards some very nice people have given me.  Thank you again, though, guys.  Really, you made my weekend with those.

I’ve been steadily editing Dark Mirror, getting through a chapter a day, which puts me at 3 done, plus the one I’m going to be doing today.  I think today I’ll also enter the changes from the ones I’ve done, rather than waiting until I’ve finished editing them.  You never know what you might end up finding/changing when you go to actually work on the manuscript, as opposed to just scribbling notes and crossing stuff out.  I could do more, but I have a lot on my plate and I don’t want to rush through this and miss the obvious or important as a result.  That said, I am relatively happy with it, happy with the story certainly.  It’s still early in the manuscript, but I don’t think there are going to be any major changes, though maybe some additions to some parts, to flesh them out, further develop things I’m becoming aware of for other reasons.

And that brings me to the other things I’ve been doing in the last few days of my nearly-over vacation.  The outline for Possession is going well, though I’m still groping around for the details of the ending.  I know certain things that have to be in place beforehand though, and some things that occur as part of the ending, but the specifics, the where and how are still out there in the murk.  It’s a start, and I’m sure the exact details will come if I can just stop thinking about it for a bit.  I know it will, because that’s how it always works.  I’m doing something else and my story smacks me upside the head with absolutely no subtlety.  Every time, same thing.  One day, my muse is going to give me a concussion and then where will it be?

Further to that, The Nine, which will be Book 3 and the close of the trilogy, is advancing nicely in the notes stage.  Mostly general story stuff.  The beginning and the end of this are as yet proving elusive, but that really doesn’t worry me, for a number of reasons.  For one thing, the beginning will flow out of the ending of Possession, once I have that.  As for the ending, I have time to get there. It’s going to be significant, I know that, and I’m getting some hints regarding it, so I know it’s somewhere in my brain.  That said, so are a lot of things.  I feel like a prospector panning a river for gold some days.  Wait, what’s a toad doing in my pan?

In any case, I haven’t been totally idle on the writing front either.  One of the blogs I follow offers writing prompts periodically.  I’ll be clear, I don’t do them often, partly because I really don’t need MORE ideas floating around in my head.  Really, I don’t.  It’s already crowded and I will never have time to get to them all, even if they stop now, which doesn’t seem terribly likely.  But this one tweaked on one that’s been floating around in there for about a year.  Dawnstriders is an interesting idea, and I love the FMC (Female Main Character, for the uninitiated.  Congrats, you’ve just been initiated, don’t you feel special?), but I only have a general storyline for it, and a beginning that I wrote a while ago that has always seemed awkward, not quite right.  Then I saw this prompt, which had a picture of someone backlit by the dawning sun, and the real opening fell into my brain.  I wrote it, I like it.  I typed it up, so it’s all nice and saved now, backed up even.  I think I figured out part of the problem I was having.  You see, I typically write in a POV (Point of View) called limited 3rd person.  Think of it a bit like sitting on the character’s shoulder.  It’s not first person (I), but you still don’t know more than that POV character does.  There is, however, a small amount of narrative distance.  Dawnstriders, however, seems to fit and flow better as first person.  I’m willing to try it, and I had toyed with making DM first person, but when I started working on draft 2, I kind of forgot that plan and slipped straight into my usual POV.  I think it ended up working for the story, but different stories require different things, and part of me still wonders a bit about how DM would have turned out in first person.  Oh well, roads not taken and all that.  You still have to choose and live with the choice you made.

On that subject, I’m having some fun *does her evil author look* with the outline and story-spinning for Possession.  You see, there are some rampant misconceptions from some characters about others.  It stems from emotional entanglement, forgotten memories and incomplete knowledge (aka the same reasons the rest of us do that), but some of that incomplete knowledge gets cleared up in book two.  It’s going to be fun to write those parts, to see the changes, the regrets for choices that can’t be undone, the words spoken that can’t be retrieved.  That’s the thing with life, and therefor with stories.  Once a choice is made, you have to live with it and all the consequences that flow out of it.  Oh, sure, the author can change their mind about choices, but I tend to believe it should only be when the story calls for it (like when I had to rewrite all of DM because I changed something fundamental.  I couldn’t avoid that change, and the story is infinitely better for the change).  Yes, I know I’m being cryptic.  I don’t want to spoil the story for people, but I wanted to share my thoughts on consequences of choices.  That should be part of telling the story, not just the choices the characters make but also the consequences and them trying to live with those consequences and any regrets they may have as a result.

Oh, and before I go, I thought I’d share a picture from my somewhat vast collection of my own work.  I should start getting it out there at some point, and now is as good a time as any.  I hope you enjoy it.  🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Those Things You Learn To Live With

  1. Klextin says:

    I am envious of your talent. I have no idea how you can keep that many projects, a life and more going at the same time. The photograph by the way is stunning, the mixture of light,shadow all adds up to romance and mystery!

    I can’t wait to read your books and see more photographs!

    • Julie says:

      Let me correct a misperception here. I don’t really have a life outside of writing at the moment. I eat, sleep, work, write and blog. That’s the whole list. I think having a social life was one of the things I burned on the twin alters of moving across the country to where I wanted to be and writing more. I mostly Facebook, email and blog for a social life at the moment. Strangely, this doesn’t bother me, and I don’t feel alone.

  2. LOL@ corrections!! THAT is a life, sure it may be not what other people call a life but I know I’d rather be at home (with a cat keeping me trapped at my computer!) than in a nightclub with annoying people, smoke, noise.. And wishing I was elsewhere ..

    And perhaps that last bit is critical.. whatever you’re doing, if you enjoy it, is good!

    Besides, if you went out and got a life, we’d have to wait longer for blog entries!! 😉

    • Julie says:

      Somehow, I knew you’d call me on that statement, too. You’re right about the enjoyment being critical, and I think that’s why I’m not bothered by my lack of interaction with people face-to-face, though my mother doesn’t seem to want to stop bugging me about it. :p I think I need to have a word with her about this…

      And whatever would you do if you had to wait for a blog post from me. This is almost a week now with a post from me every day. I don’t know if I can keep it up for long, but we’ll find out. I’m still only planning to post when I have something worth saying. That said, with the number of projects I have on the go at the moment, that might still be every day…

      • CKS says:

        I have to agree with Lifeinthefarcelane. 😀 You are fueling your passion (or your passion is fueling you; guess it goes both ways!), working hard and enjoying it. Everybody should take a lesson from that!

      • Julie says:

        In some ways, it’s easier said than done. The hard part for many is finding that thing they’re passionate about to such a degree that it no longer seems like work. I got lucky, in some ways, with that English class assignment. Funny part? I don’t do short stories anymore. I’m not that good at them in many ways, though I might try my hand at them again, just to see how I do with shorts when I apply all the lessons I’ve learned lately.

  3. Klextin says:

    I agree you do indeed have a life, and one that many are envious to have, You’re also dealing with that huge move and more. Give your self a break enjoy what your doing. When the time is right you will make any changes or additions you deem warranted.

    Just 2 cents from a new friend!

    • Julie says:

      Don’t worry, I am taking time to enjoy my life. But the funny thing is that I enjoy most of the things that keep me busy, so it’s all good in the end.

  4. As if you don’t miss our Monday night mall girls nights. 😉 I’m so glad that you sound so very happy these days.

    (as a side note, sorry I didn’t call yesterday…having A. with me made it a tad difficult)

  5. MythRider says:

    Thanks for following my blog.
    I haven’t read all of your posts, but I have checked out your photos. Nice job. I see your creative eye.
    I’m also an artist and I’m looking for pictures to paint. May I paint this picture, of the water at night? I’ll send you a photo of it when I’m finished. It won’t be soon. Painting gets squeezed in. Often there isn’t enough time.
    ;0)
    Phyllis

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

