Where’s My Fancy Dress and Speech?

I didn’t know we had an awards season around here!

The amazing people over at Limebird Writers have so kindly given me a shiny Kreativ Blogger Award. Such a wonderful way to start the new year!

Now, these things usually come with rules or instructions…. *turns it over and frowns at the blank bottom*. Um… Oh, wait, there it is, it fell off and got stuck to my dress. Oops.

The rules:

1. Share 10 things you don’t know about me.
2. Pass the award onto 6 other bloggers.

Okay, hmm, 10 things you don’t know about me.

  1. I’m not originally from Vancouver.  I’m a refugee from Toronto who thinks she properly should have been born out here on the west coast in the first place.  I love it out here.
  2. I wrote my first fiction piece when I was 16, a short story for english class about Vampires that even my old-school English teacher loved.  I was hooked on writing, and wanted to be an author in the worst way.
  3. My writing is generally fuelled by a strange combination of bizarre thoughts (that occasionally scare even me) and hot chocolate made from Fry’s Cocoa.  If anyone wants the recipe, just ask.  Trust me, it’s sure to make your brain zing.
  4. I have two cats, one of whom likes to help me write by laying on my legs, pinning me in front of my netbook for hours at a time with his cute, warm furriness.  It actually works.
  5. My current surge in writing was kickstarted early in 2011 with a post in a writer’s forum I’ve been on for years.  It was a repost of someone else’s blog, who’s name entirely escapes me so early in the day/year, about that guy you meet in the bar who says he’s a writer, talks about his ideas and then you find out he never actually writes ANYTHING.  I saw myself in danger of becoming that guy (well, girl in my case) and I sincerely don’t want to be.  It was quite the wake-up call.  Between that and a few other things that I have mentioned before, I decided it was time to stop talking and start doing.  Haven’t looked back since.
  6. I write to a variety of music, some of which comes from movie soundtracks, some from video games, and some is old school hour and a half long trance.  I switch when whatever I was listening to stops working for me.  Once, I listened to the same song all day.  😮
  7. I love rain and can’t stand snow (hence the moving to Vancouver) except on a ski slope.  I’ll go visit it there if I need some, really.  It’s been a fabulous winter here so far, a little wet snow yesterday that didn’t even accumulate because it got washed away by subsequent rain.
  8. The author I would most like to be like is Carol Berg.  One day, I dream of being that good.  I’d like to think that I tell stories in a similar style, but I’d best leave that judgement to others, as I might just be day-dreaming there.  If you haven’t read her and you like fantasy, I heartily recommend her.  So looking forward to her new book in 2 days.
  9. I know that I don’t post about my photography much at all, but that’s because I don’t like to shoot in winter and my writing is currently taking up all of my non-work time.  But I do love to go around with my DSLR camera and shoot plants, buildings, whatever strikes me as evocative or beautiful at the time.  One of these days I’m going to get around to putting prints of some of my best work up for sale, probably on Etsy or something like it, but that’s going to take courage, and all of mine is being used up at the moment by, you guessed it, my writing.
  10. And last, but not least, before I committed so entirely back to my writing, I was an avid gamer.  Mostly RPG’s, particularly Japanese ones, but I lost most of two years to World of Warcraft.  Quitting WoW was part of what I sacrificed to be able to write more, but I don’t regret it.  I miss one or two of the friends I had made, but I don’t regret the sacrifice.  That said, I think some of these games have provided nuggets of inspiration, and I still sometimes take a break for an hour or so with the non-MMO ones.  I don’t think I can risk getting addicted to MMO’s again if I ever want to get this writing career off the ground.

Wow, that was harder than it looked.  Now for the other list that needs to go with this.  6 Bloggers I would like to award myself…  After some thought:

  1. Of A Writerly Sort
  2. LifeInTheFarceLane
  3. It’s a Big Man’s World
  4. Meredith Mansfield’s Blog
  5. On Diversion
  6. Klextin

So there’s my list of people who I admire Kreativly, who I think deserve some recognition.  I hope you enjoy their blogs as much as I do.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Where’s My Fancy Dress and Speech?

  1. Em says:

    Congrats to you!! I’m hoping to start up a blog in 2012 (one of my many plans bwahahah) and I hope I’m as good as you at it!

    cheers!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I will expect a link to your new blog and harass you for it if it doesn’t arrive in good time 🙂 And, as always, you know where to find me if you need/want advice. I won’t pretend I know everything, very far from it, but you know I’m always up to share the things I have learned.

  2. Klextin says:

    I personally believe your deserving of both and more, Thank you for allowing us to enjoy your writing…..I look forward to much more!

    “Humble Bow”

  3. Klextin says:

    When I posted my comment I did not actually notice you had included me in your list. Thank you does not even come close to how much I appreciate your kindness.

    Your to kind,

    Klextin

  4. Well hello there Julie of “Word Flows”! Greetings from Chris of “Word Play”! Thanks for liking my comment on our Kiwi friend’s post, and congrats on your shiny and bright new award! Keep up the good work, because i just might be looking over your shoulder and start following you… (in a totally virtual and non threatening way of course!) Pressure’s on now, huh? J/K! Just keep on doing what you’re doing, because apparently you’re doing it very well! Happy New Year! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Aww, and here I thought I was getting my first real live stalker! kidding! And thanks, I’m just trying to entertain everyone else as much as I am myself (and trust me, I’m very entertained, but that might be due in larger part to the words of others).

  5. CKS says:

    I never did get into World of Warcraft, but there’s a simple reason: I never did play it! It wasn’t because I didn’t want to — it was because I didn’t know how my computer (back then!) would handle it, and I knew I’d become an addict (let’s face it — I have an addictive personality!). During the times my friends were bugging me to play it, I was busy with something in my life, and maybe that’s a good thing after all!

    Were you ever familiar with The Sims Online? It released back in November/December 2002. That was my personal WoW! 😀 It was fun for a while, and I met a lot of awesome people (none that I talk to anymore, unfortunately, as we lost contact) but it became stale. Soon, it became obsolete, as websites everywhere were implementing social online games with a similar design (and the game “Second Life”) for free, so Maxis/EA axed it and have since just stuck with The Sims 2 and now 3. Haven’t played the series in a while either, but I miss the good ol’ days of TSO.

    I have to ask, have you bought/fell victim to Skyrim yet? I have it, but I haven’t bothered with it since it released in November. I could probably lose myself in it, exploring and all that jazz for hours.

    As I read that you can’t stand snow, I look outside and see the ridiculous mini-blizzard that’s going on here in Virginia! I can’t wait till the weather warms up… I want to take a road trip to the beach for a couple of days and just relax.

    So, uh, about that hot chocolate recipe… 😛

    • Julie says:

      See, what I loved best about the Sims was getting mine in a house, removing the door and seeing how they died. Sick, I know, but it entertained me for a while. As for Skyrim, I’ve been avoiding that, for a number of reasons. Believe it or not, I never did really like the Elder Scrolls games. And, of course, I too have an addictive personality, and decided I should write instead of gaming, so I’m avoiding that one. I know a few people with it, though, totally addicted too.

      Hot chocolate: (adjust for cup size, mine holds about 2-3/4 cups of water, for reference)

      4 Tablespoons of sugar (I just use white granulated)
      1 Tablespoon of cornstarch
      4 Tablespoons (approx) of Fry’s Cocoa
      1-2/3 cup of milk (I use skim as it’s what’s in the house)

      Mix dry ingredients in the cup. Microwave milk for 3-3.5 minutes (depending on microwave power). Pour in a small quantity (1-2 tbs) of cold milk into the cup during this time and mix until you get a nice thick syrup. Mix in warm milk thoroughly. Enjoy. Can be doctored with mint extract or your preferred booze, depending on your current needs 🙂

  6. limebirdbeth says:

    Woo hoo! You’re welcome Julie! 🙂

    Ps – I hope you will have a chance soon to come and introduce yourself in the forums! – http://limebird.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=intro 🙂

    • Julie says:

      I registered a little while back on the forum, but I tend to lurk for a while before I speak up (it’s terrible, I know). In one forum I’m on regularly, I lurked for a year or so before I did my first post. I’ll officially say hi though. 🙂

  7. I am sure I liked this ages ago, Julie I’m sorry for my silence.. How rood!
    Rotten kiwis 😉

    Congrats on the awards, what a thrill to end and start a year this way huh!
    Well deserved, I love your blog.

    And you keep good company I see (above) too 😉 😉

    • Julie says:

      But I like kiwis, and not just the fruits 😉 I just figured, per recent blog posts, you were both having a good time and recovering.

      I knew you’d resurface sometime after the hangover released you from what sounded like a near-deathwish experience. 🙂 Glad to see you back in the land of the living. As always, your kind words are much appreciated.

      • rotten kiwis aren’t so good tho *grin* And yeah I have been a bit hectic and plain ol’ ill too, lately! Have more news on the “home fires burning” theme too but it’ll have to wait awhile, I’ve got uh .. a house guest so don’t have as much time to spend here online 😉

      • Julie says:

        I’m heartbroken! Actually, really happy to hear that things are… progressing, shall we say? I’ll just have to live bereft until you return to dally with us for a bit. 😀

  8. jesus I didn’t have that brand of cocoa but I had all else. I’m now floating in a cocoa heaven… and love you .. marry me?

    PS I used full fat milk

    I know. I’m bad.

    • Julie says:

      You can use any brand of cocoa, that’s just what I tend to get because it’s what I know. And the only reason I use skim milk is because it’s what I have in the house for other things. If I bought regular milk just for the hot chocolate, that would encourage me to drink it more often, and one a day really should be the limit (if only so my brain doesn’t explode).

  9. Klextin says:

    wow who new the way to a womans heart was cocoa!

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

