I Have A Fabulous Fan!

I know I already said this on her blog, but thank you very much, lifeinthefarcelane for this spanky, wonderful Liebster award!  It’s wonderful to be liked.  Now I have to think of what to say, which is a problem because my brain is just sitting there, awed at being given an award.  But then, I’ve been posting a lot lately without the benefit of a fully functioning brain, so maybe you all won’t notice too much.  🙂

Now, this thing comes with instructions, I think.  *turns it over and looks*  Yup, there they are:

In accepting this award, the recipient must agree to:

• Thank the person who gave them the award and link back to their blog – Done!
• Copy and paste the award to their blog – Um, look out bellow!
• Reveal the 5 blogs (with under 200 followers) they have chosen to award and let them know by commenting on their blog – This is going to be hard!

It’s a very nice way to end the year (still NYE here), receiving this from one of my absolute favourite people on the blogosphere!  Of course, the list of 5 blogs that I love is going to seem wildly incomplete without putting lifeinthefarcelane on there, but I suspect it’s bad form to pass it back to the person who gave it to you, and maybe I can get sneaky and put her somewhere near the list…  Now, these are supposed to be blogs with fewer than 200 followers, but some people don’t have that information up on their blog (at this time) so I’m doing a lot of guesswork in some cases.

So, without making you dwell in darkness further, I give you my list of favourites:

  1. Crawling King Snake who says some wonderful, honest and very introspective things.  I look forward to reading more of them in the new year.
  2. Limebird Writers who I will admit are a smudge over 200, but I don’t care.  They have offered some very insightful, helpful words to all writers out there, myself included, and I’d like to get more writers reading these fine people’s words.
  3. The Accidental Novelist her writing advice and exercises are always interesting and make me think about my own work, past, present and pending.
  4. Full-Time Musings of a Part-Time Writer This is another of the writing blogs I follow, and have thoroughly enjoyed, found thought-provoking and generally wish there was more (always a good sign if you ask me)
  5. Conversing With Novels I love the conversations she has with her novel, which remind me forcefully of when my characters argue with me about what happens in the story.  Any writer out there will understand what I’m talking about, though I admit it makes us look a little crazy to the non-writers out there…

There are other wonderful blogs I’ve been following, more as I find them, but it’s a good list.  If you aren’t on the list, it isn’t that I don’t love you, honest.  I may have thought you wildly over the 200 follower cutoff.  It’s been a wild year and I’ve enjoyed the community more than I could possibly say.  The people I’ve met, am still meeting, around here are great.  You all bring laughter and thought to my day, and I want to thank you all for that.  I hope I can do the same for you as we go down the path of 2012 together.  Merry New Years!

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I Have A Fabulous Fan!

  1. limebirdbeth says:

    Woo hoo! Thank you Julie and congratulations! 😀

  2. ottabelle says:

    Thank youuu! I’m glad you have it!

  3. Klextin says:

    Thank you for following my blog, I truly enjoy yours as well!, Congrats on the award to boot….wooot!

  4. Klextin says:

    New post @ klextin inspired by your comments, Thank you so very much!

  5. CKS says:

    Wow! Really wasn’t expecting this. It means a lot (understatement, I promise)! You know, when I started CKS just 10 days ago, it was a spur of the moment idea. I was sitting on my couch, watching ESPNEWS in the middle of the day, and bored. My favorite sports radio personality’s show had gone off (The Herd), and I kept thinking, “I just need to get my thoughts out there in some forum or capacity.” The song “Crawling King Snake” had been stuck in my head, and well, you know the rest of the story. I appreciate the strong support so much. I’m terrible at accepting awards and admittedly bad at replying to comments (gotta say, I’m stumped, as the comments have been really introspective, deep and thought provoking, and I appreciate each and every one of them), but hopefully I’ve articulated my gratitude well!

    I’ve been blogging on WordPress since about 2006 with a variety of blogs, and I’ve always loved the community on this particular platform. I’ve never been able to go back to Blogger/Blogspot because of it.

    I’m glad that I met you, Julie. Your writing flows so nice (I mean, hell, ‘flows’ in the name of the blog!), and your ambition and passion for writing practically jumps out of the computer screen, and I love that. I know that if I’m ever stalled and lacking passion, I’m going to be visiting your blog. I know that I can draw inspiration just from reading your posts for the already mentioned reasons. Thank you!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks, and you’re welcome! I like sharing the great people I find around here. As for replies, they don’t always have to be deep or thoughtful. Sometimes it’s nice to just say thanks, or to agree/disagree as the situation calls for.

      And thank you very much for the compliments. You have no idea how deeply I’m blushing right now. 🙂

  6. Aw, Julie, that is very sweet. Thank you. I don’t think I’ll have the time do the necessary steps, though. I’m under too many writing deadlines. If you need to nominate someone else, I understand.

    • Julie says:

      You’re welcome, and do the steps whenever you get time. I totally understand about deadlines and I knew you had at least a few at the moment. I hope I didn’t make you feel pressured with this. 🙂

  7. mrtinney says:

    Congrats! Enjoying your blog.

  8. AND I liked this one already ages ago too. Damnit @ WordPress. I noticed I’ve unfollowed a few blogs lately (without bloody knowing it!) too .. very odd.

    *kicks WordPress*

    (Watch as my blog suddenly vanishes into thin air and they forgot to back it up – heheh)

    Thank you for sneaking me in when you did your post above Julie 😉

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

