Relationships, Progress and Portrayals

It’s been a good weekend, with me mostly keeping focused on the task of writing the second draft of Dark Mirror, interspersed with some gaming to keep my minimal sanity more or less intact. I’m very happy with the progress this weekend, both in word count totals and the story itself. A miraculous thing happened actually. This time, it didn’t take me 30k to get Fay and Tavis together. They met at the end of my writing session yesterday, about 11.5k. Much better. And I’m glad to not having to wait that long for him too. I missed Tavis. Crazy, I know, but he’s a sweetheart, for all that he spent most of November driving me nuts.  I kind of wish I could still tell this story partly from in his head but sadly, I can’t.  Maybe I’ll see about doing that in the sequel (yes there will be one, though it’s still vague and nebulous given I’m still nailing this one down and other projects are trying to use what few brain resources are not committed to this draft).

I’m working to develop the relationship more between Tavis and Fay this time, partly because it isn’t the same as last time and the portion of it that was automatic before now isn’t. It’s interesting, and is showing me elements of both their personalities I hadn’t really noticed before, so that’s fun.  Also, it’s challenging them both as individuals, Fay particularly.  It’s making her more aware of her own biases, including how they relate to her own life and situation.

I am spending a little more time on word-smithing this time than I was during November, which I hope will lead to a lesser need for editing when I have this draft done. I feel quite confident that I can make my goal even with that, largely because of how much I beat even my current goal by during NaNo (75k vs 107k, yeah, I win), so I figure I have the time now.  And it doesn’t seem to be slowing me down either (see later in this post) It also might help to reduce the post-draft-completion shock, allowing me to put it in the hands of certain wise readers for comments that much faster, without all the agonizing and the need for a total rewrite that I’ve had this time.  I’m cautiously optimistic on that score.  I have to say, I love the idea of finishing this draft and not having a total meltdown again.

So, now that I’ve gone through all that, I guess I should get down to actual numbers.  I thought I did fairly well yesterday, as I said at the start, putting in 4,709 words for the day.  That was what I would have considered an awesome day at any point pretty much during November, when I was putting in between 2-3k per day for the most part, weekends getting to the higher end of that spectrum.  I figured I wouldn’t be able to pull that again tonight, especially since I couldn’t write until about 11 again tonight because of work tomorrow.  I love being wrong about stuff like that.  I had a slow start but a fabulous finish today, putting in a total of 5,513 words for the day.  That brings me to a total of 17,078 words so far on the manuscript.  To put that in perspective, during NaNo last month, when it’s supposed to be speed demon time, it took me about 7.5 days to do that much, and now I’ve done it in 4.  Some of it is having a better idea of where the story is going, a better outline and all that.  I think some of it is my brain getting into the habit of writing.  It feels a bit like when you’re working out and building any muscle on your body, the more you do it regularly, the more you’re able to do.  It’s a nice feeling, though I’m sure that my fingers will one day place a finite limit on how much I can write in a single day, no matter how good my brain may or may not get at it.

One final note before I call it a night and close out the weekend as far as writing is concerned.  I’ve been spending a lot more time in the last couple of weeks getting out in the blog community and making connections, particularly the writing community within the WordPress blog community.  I’m constantly impressed at the amazing ideas and thoughts everyone out there has.  I’ve learned things from many of you, at least one of which actually made it to my writing epiphany wall so I wouldn’t forget it, and others have written things that confirmed to me that I have definitely matured as a writer (and am continuing to mature) and might be on my way to having a chance to make something of myself in this particular arena.  I hope that one day, I’m able to pass that on to someone else, that feeling that you’re making progress on the path that hopefully leads to one day being a published writer, because I’m all about giving back to a community that gives me so much just by being there and thinking out loud.  To all those I’m following, keep up the good work.  To those I haven’t discovered yet, I’ll find you one of these days.  To those who are following my blog, thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Relationships, Progress and Portrayals

  1. Em says:

    Now that I have more time on my hands, I’m also planning on finally starting up a writing blog…it became really clear to me at the con that it’s something I need to do.

    Congrats on your word counts, that’s amazing!!

    • Julie says:

      Send me the link when you do start your blog, because you know I will be following that, for sure. And thanks. I’m a little amazed by the way the weekend went. I was expecting to be back in the 2-2.5k range starting the new draft, but it’s flowing like river rapids. It’s crazy, but I’ll enjoy it while it lasts (which will hopefully be until the draft is done).

  2. ottabelle says:

    I’m really glad you’re doing so well. 🙂 Have you posted anything from Dark Mirror on here? If not, I would love to see some.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks for asking! I’m not going to be posting any of it for a while. There wouldn’t be any point to posting something from the first draft, as it’s being tossed, and I’ve learned the hard way not to share too much of what I’m working on while I’m writing it. Multiple dead novel attempts have taught me that I am, first and foremost, a storyteller and that telling the story to anyone other than my NetBook will result in me not finishing it. My NetBook at least presents me with a nice little manuscript when I’m done telling it the story. I will possibly post an excerpt here once this draft is complete and I’ve done a little polishing, but we’ll have to see.

  3. ottabelle says:

    Aww D: I understand 🙂 I had to ask, though!

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

