So I’m Impatient

Those of you who know me in real life already know this, but for those of you who only know me through this blog or my involvement with NaNoWriMo this year, patience is not one of my strong suits. I wouldn’t quite go so far as to say I have none, but it’s definitely in limited quantities that are quickly and easily exhausted. You’ve gotten glimpses of this already, such as my inability to wait even a full day before reading my NaNo manuscript, or more than 24 hours for my outline of the second draft. So I’m sure none of you are surprised that I started my write-a-thon a day early.

That’s right, I started writing last night. I couldn’t wait any longer, I was ready, really, I was. I must have been, because even though I didn’t start writing until about 8 pm, I still managed to get in 3,067 words last night. I was up until 11:40 or so doing it, and wasn’t all there at work today, but writing is more important anyway. Fortunately, I had found my brain again by the time I got home, and have been tapping away ever since, writing a further 3,789 words, which is more than respectable and easily beats my pace.  This brings me to a total of 6,856 at the close of day two.  I say close because my eyes are trying to close as I write this blog entry.  Thankfully, I’m a touch typist, so that’s not nearly as big of a handicap to blogging as it probably should be.  At least my brain is still churning out coherent sentences.  I hope.  Otherwise, you are all going to be scratching your heads and I’ll look at it tomorrow with complete embarrassment.  Oh well, let’s get back on subject:  Dark Mirror Second Draft.

 

I will say that I’m already so very much happier with this draft.  Whether that will last for the rest of the 100k plus words I still have to write is anyone’s guess at this point, but when I think about my outline and the changes I’ve made to the story, I think it will.  The story is already more dynamic, with Fay being more of a participant, and that’s good since this is, as I said, her story.  She should be the one driving it with her choices, and now she is.  I’m also introducing one of the major conflicts much earlier, and I think that it’s more interesting for it.  There’s so much that I’ve learned and am applying already that I’m finding it very encouraging as a writer.  I feel like the work I put into the first draft, the blogs I read from other writers and the time I spent re-imagining this story are going to pay off and are reflective of real growth for me as a writer.

 

I also find I’m sticking with the outline a little more closely this time, though still not being super-strict about it.  I think it’s more like it’s a natural outgrowth of the greater amount of thought and development that went into this outline over my initial one that very loosely guided me through NaNo.  So I’m ending today in a good mood, and looking forward to getting up and writing tomorrow, though I will have to take a small break for an errand as long as the weather isn’t too miserable.  Okay, I think that’s all the work my brain is willing to do for the rest of the night.  I’ll catch you all next post.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to So I’m Impatient

  1. ottabelle says:

    I wish I was in the same writing mode as you! Go go go!

  2. Julie says:

    Thanks, Ottabelle. It’s nice after several years of being mostly dormant to have a writing explosion going on in my life. I’m hoping to keep it going until it becomes total habit that I do something with writing every day, even if it’s just notes and story development or editing. I can’t necessarily crank out 2k+ words without having something I’m actually writing about, but I think that as long as I’m working on the craft in some way or other, it’s all good.

  3. Hey, why not? Letting it ferment is a good thing, I think, but I’d pick this over procrastination.

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, I agree that this is way better than procrastination or even the dreaded writer’s block. I think the trick is knowing the difference between the three. That’s something I’m still working on. Like now, I’m procrastinating, but I think it might be due to letting my thoughts get into some kind of order for the next scene. I hope. I might be wrong.

  4. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Hm, I’m late to the party again . . . you certainly are a diligent blogger 🙂

    Anyway, I would say that yes, impatience in this case is better than procrastinating, which is often a problem for me and many other writers. So keep writing! Good luck 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Lol, thanks. I’m only diligent when I have something to say, really. But lately, it seems to be often, probably because I’m working so hard on the writing and figuring things out, both my process and the craft itself. I’m kind of looking forward to writing an end-of-year post looking back at 2011. It’s starting to take shape in my head and it’s a lot happier than I would have expected six months ago. How things can change when you’re busy doing something you love.

  5. tanyaspencer says:

    First of all, you are a MACHINE! I can’t believe your daily word counts. Keep up the great work. I love rewriting – I know I may be one of the few, but it’s where I find out what my story is really about, and where I find the gold. Happy Writing!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks, Tanya. I don’t mind rewriting, as long as it’s for a purpose. In this case, I learned so many things from the first draft and some thinking I did that I had to apply them. I will not being doing this again for this story, though. One of the hard lessons I learned when I used to write short stories (not my favorite, but a decent place to work on some aspects of the craft) is that you can rewrite forever without accomplishing anything, so you have to know when to say enough. That doesn’t mean there won’t be any editing and reworking of this story, not by a long shot. But I will not be redrafting it. If some editing and revising (some, not endless amounts) do not turn it into something publishable, than I’ll just move onto the next story. Nothing will ever be perfect, so you have to stop yourself at some point and say enough.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

