What a Way to End NaNoWriMo

The final day of November is upon me and yet still I sit here, bashing away at the keyboard. No, not done yet, but tantalizingly close. I’ve got about 24 more hours or so of story time to write up, but it includes the big big conflict, difficult choices for a couple of characters and an unmasking of one. I think I’ve got about 15-20k left, so I might be done by the end of this weekend, early next week at the latest I hope.

It was a very busy last couple of days, which is why there was no blog post yesterday: I was too busy writing (and today seemed a better day for it). I remember thinking that 5,208 on Sunday was good, but I must now re-evaluate that, or at least invent a new more awesome category. Why? Because Monday, I went all out, pedal to the metal, and wrote my way up to 5,741. I was thrilled not to be totally brain fried at the end of that, but ordered myself to bed in hopes of having a decent amount left for the final day of my big last-weekend-of-nano push.

Decent does not describe what happened yesterday. Doesn’t even come close, not in the same universe as what happened yesterday. I wrote, I wrote some more, I played God of War for an hour, then wrote some more. I kept expecting to come up empty. I wrote until I had no more notes for what was coming up next in the chapter. I finished that chapter and wrote the next one anyway, and the one after that, until I found myself in the middle of Chapter 20! I stopped only because I had work today, and seriously considered for a minute continuing anyway and calling in (brain) dead today. I didn’t. I was a good girl and went to bed, but I did manage to get all the way to 6,615 words!!! This awesome push brought me up to 92722, which is phenomenal, even if it does not constitute done.

Tonight is shaping up well too, though I’m not done for the night, just taking a blogging break. So far though, I’m up to 2,311 today in the few hours I’ve been working since I got home tonight. As I said, more on the way, but it brings me up to 95,121, and that makes me happy.

This has been a better, wilder ride than I had ever anticipated when I told myself that I would do NaNo this year if I had the outline of Dark Mirror done before November 1st. I have been more successful in it than I had any right to hope, given how little I’ve written in the last few years, and I see in what I have made the start of something amazing. It’s going to take some work editing to whip it into shape, even once I’ve done the Herculean task of finishing this, but even getting this far feels wonderful. Add to that all the lessons I’m taking away from this, and I feel like I have done nothing more worthwhile in my life to this point than NaNoWriMo 2011. I can’t wait until next year. 🙂

What, you might ask, are my plans immediately following writing the end and stewing in the glowing satisfaction that will be a finished novel manuscript for the first time? Notes and ideas for at least one other project. I’m starting to see the shapes in the mist that is the sequel to Dark Mirror (which I should mention might get a name change soon), plus there’s another idea, the Ailing Tree, that’s starting to burn up my brain and fingers, with characters making their presence known and my mind investigating questions around the idea and framework of story that is emerging from that puddle of inspiration. I’ll have to pick one at some point, and of course there’s the even mistier form of a third book in the Mirrors set sitting behind the sequel. The writing future looks petty bright right now. I just have to be patient and see which sun is rising on yonder horizon. I’m just happy that there’s light.

This may or may not be my last blog post until I write The End on Dark Mirror. I haven’t decided yet. I know I want to concentrate on finishing the book, but this is a nice place to come pat myself on the back and feel all the other hands joining mine. Thank you again everyone, friends, family and new friends, for your support, interest and enthusiasm. I don’t know that I could have gotten through some of the tougher days without it.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What a Way to End NaNoWriMo

  1. Em says:

    Excellent news! Your progress has been unbelievable throughout this month and I’m very excited to hear that you’ll finally get to write The End on something. And then I expect it in my inbox forthwith!

  2. julietkachyk says:

    haha, still have to rewrite parts of the first half, for sure, plus go through the whole thing for a general edit before it goes out for comments from wise readers. I have some hopes for this weekend being the one, but I’m taking it as it comes. One word, sentence, paragraph at a time.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

