Long Weekend, Should Be Good For The Numbers

And so the weekend begins for me. Yes, I know it’s only Thursday, but tomorrow is a holiday here in BC, so I get a day off to consider the sacrifices of the many good men and women who have fought and sometimes died for our country, so my life could be what it is now. And for writing, because of course, there will be writing.

Still doing well, still blowing pace out of the water, with 2183 on Wednesday and another 2305 tonight. It brings my total to 22,505 words, 3 days ahead of pace now. It also brought me to the end of Chapter 4, and nicely into Chapter 5, which I think may end up being one of the longer ones, not that I’m really keeping track. They’ll be as long as they need to be, as will everything else in this first draft. That said, it’s still going well and, miraculously, my two protagonists are finally going to meet at the end of this chapter, though the meeting won’t be fully handled until early in the next chapter. Still, it’s nice to be at this point, knowing that it’s a major turning point.

For this weekend, I’m setting myself a bit of a challenge, since it is a long weekend. I am challenging myself to get beyond 30k by the end of day Sunday. It’s certainly possible, I just need to keep up the pace I managed tonight, maybe a touch more, but I can do it if I keep focused on what I need to do and where I’m going with this.

I think that’s all I have for tonight. I’m kind of tired, so I’m going to call it a day. At the very least, I should be posting again to let you know how I do on my challenge at the end of the weekend.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

