Friday, Struggles and Victories

Yay, Friday! Well, okay, it’s now Saturday morning but I was too tired last night to write this, so I’m doing it this morning. I treated myself to Golphis lasagna last night, which of course means that either tonight or tomorrow night I don’t have to cook (their single portion lasagna feeds me for two nights). After much tea and thinking, I dove into writing last night. It didn’t go as expected, but little in my life ever does.

Up until now, this novel has flowed fairly well for me, in a writing sense. I know, it was only three days, one chapter and a couple paragraphs into another, not enough to form expectations, but I tend to get ahead of myself on almost everything. Oh well. Last night was a real struggle. Where on Thursday I put up 2223 words in a couple of hours, I only managed about 1500 in four hours last night and then struggled for another hour to get those last few hundred, taking me to 1808, and then walked away.

It wasn’t so much that I didn’t want to write, as I was struggling more with one of my two main characters. He wasn’t quite as clearly defined to me at this end of the story as he is later in the outline, or as my other main character is throughout the whole thing. So all that work was really me wrestling with his beginnings. I did make it though, though and felt a small sense of victory that I at least beat pace by a lIttle, just not as much as I expected to from thinking about writing all day at work. I goofed off, watched Fringe (best show ever) and generally didn’t think much about writing, other than a vague desire to leg out my lead over pace by a bit more. Then suddenly I was sitting at my NetBook again, typing away. I got another few hundred words, taking me to 2056 for the day, which was a great feeling. I’m also set up for what I think will be a good day of writing. I don’t think chapter two is going to be as long as chapter one was, but that’s okay. Right now, they’ll be as long as they need to be.

I know not all days will be easy, and some days even being on pace will be difficult, but that struggle actually made the word count sweeter, because I really worked for it, pushed myself to it rather than taking the easy route. It would have been so easy to let it slide at a much lower amount, since I am ahead of pace, but I refuse to do that. If I put up another 2k today I could, in theory take tomorrow off, but I don’t think I’ll do that. I’m enjoying myself too much to take a day off. Also, I’m actually sleeping better, which is almost certainly related to writing every day, and I’m not messing that up either.

So the journey through NaNo continues, and I’m still happy with the story and the writing. Yes, I’m posting right now more often than I ever have in the history of this blog. I’m going to keep that up, I think. It’s nice to have a space to pat myself on the back, to share the journey and all that. Also, when the book is done, it will be nice to be able to go back and read all this, to see all that I went through and overcame, to get there. It will remind me why I should be proud to make it to the end, when I do.

Okay, time for breakfast, tea and writing. Later!

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday, Struggles and Victories

  1. EmEm says:

    I find that walking away and ‘goofing off’ for a bit actually often helps with small ruts like characters who haven’t completely resolved themselves or a setting you can’t quite see yet. Your brain keeps working at it even if you’re not.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

