Back to Shorts

I haven’t dropped off the face of the planet, really.  And I know that most of you know that, as most of you have me on Facebook.  A couple have even talked to me recently.  I just haven’t had a lot to say.

I’ve been busy with life mostly, but I have been making some notes on Ring Finger.  It’s coming along as an outline, but I’ve decided there are some basic skills I need to work on first so, I’m doing some other stuff too while I’m working slowly on the outline for that project.  First and foremost, I need to finish something.  I haven’t finished a single writing project since sometime around 2003.  Sad, pathetic, and bad.  I have to change that.  I also need to work on building worlds (a little at least for now), and characterization.  My characters always feel a bit too much like a blank canvas to me.  They could almost look like anything, be like anyone, and that’s not okay either.  They just don’t seem (to me) to have enough presence in the story, to be enough of an actor in it.  I’m never going to make it through a project if I don’t work on this.

So, with the above in mind, I’ve decided I’m going to try again at writing short stories, a bit at least.  I had a good idea for one today at work, which I diligently wrote the idea and some notes down, and I transcribed the notes today into electronic form when I got home.  And then, would you believe it, an opening came to mind, and it didn’t even seem to suck!  So I fired up my netbook and got started on it.  It’s only about a page long so far, if that, but it’s a start, and it’s more actual draft than I’ve written in months, so I count it an accomplishment.  It’ll be more of one if I actually get a first draft done, but I think I will.  I have a fairly good idea of where I’m going with this.  I’m thinking it’ll be in the 5k word range, but that’s a guess-timate at this point.  For first draft, I tend to let them take as much as they take to tell.

It felt good to get back to writing something, soothing to the very broken bits of my life.  Writing has always felt like what I should be doing with my life, more than any other thing, since I wrote my first short for my Grade 11 English class.  Even when it drives me crazy, even when I quail at some of the ideas I have and wonder if I’m ever going to be good enough to get anywhere with it, writing has always been a bit of a calm center in a stormy life for me.

Oh, and I printed out a fresh copy of Elemental (and I’ll tell you, 220 pages makes for a fair stack of paper) for some editing, to try to recapture that and see where I need to work on the world and characters.  That’s kind of low priority right at the moment though, as I want to get this short done first.  I should mention, for future reference, that the short is going by the temporary name of Invisible.  We’ll see what it ends up getting titled down the road.  That’s a worry for when it’s finished, and maybe some of my friends who will hopefully be kind enough to read and comment on it will also help me with titling it.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

