A Strange Week

So this has been a little odd for me this week, writing-wise.  It started off well, and I did a fair bit of writing during the week.  Maybe a bit too much, actually, because I practically had to force myself to write this weekend.  I honestly didn’t feel much like it.  Maybe I’ve been pushing myself  little too hard, trying to write to much and not giving myself enough breaks.  I’m going to give myself Monday to Wednesday this week off, in hopes that it’ will allow me to feel up for writing a bunch on the weekend, which is a 4-day weekend due to Easter.  We’ll see how it goes.

I did cajole myself into making my goal this week though, writing 6.4k on a goal of 6k.  Not over it by much, but not bad given I didn’t really want to write this weekend.  Same goal for next week, as it seems to be a good amount for me.

I’m still happy with what I’m writing though, which is good, and I think a lot of it will stand up well when I’m done the draft and move on to  editing.  That’s still at least a month off, probably more.  I’m trying not to think too much about that, or about the various idea fragments I’m thinking up, so that I can stay focused.  I just write the fragments down and move on with things.  They’ll still be there when I’m done this draft and need to write something else to keep myself distracted while the manuscript chills.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

