The Art of Misreading

Don’t anyone have a heart attack that I’m posting for the second time in a week. I know it’s shocking, with how little I’ve been around here for the last few months or so. I take it as a good sign, me having something to say again already. Another step on the road back to being the writer I miss being? I can hope.

First, I’d like to say that I’ve figured out a new title for the prequel I’m working on. Yay! Because seriously, I couldn’t stand the old one. It reminds me a lot of how I came to feel about the original title I put on Bound, which I STILL can’t stand to even think about.

I like this one, but I’m not quite ready to share it. I only really settled on it last night and I want to live with it for a couple days or so, see how I feel as time goes on. It may be that I only like it because it’s not the old title. That happened to me with a short story once. Time will tell. Besides, I do still love to tease. ;)

I started some of my pre-writing work on said prequel though, and it felt good, like really good, to be stepping back into my process. Baby steps so far, but maybe that’s what I need right now, to not go charging in for once.

My writing brain is definitely warming up with all this. I can feel it. It’s not any one thing causing that, I think, but rather all of them building on each other. ┬áIt’s not just that I’m starting to feel like I can face writing the first sentence of the prequel and maybe even the one after. There are other signs.

For example, yesterday I had another plot bunny show up. For those unfamiliar with the term, there are a number of definitions of plot bunny to be found if you fire up Google. One of my favorites is “A tempting idea for a story that hares off into strange territory upon pursuit.” There’s more to that one if you follow the link and the rest is good, but boy, is that part appropriate for this new one.

It started out innocently enough. Someone tweeted about a bloody something. I can’t quite remember what it actually was anymore. Maybe a handprint, maybe something else. All I know for sure is that I totally misread it. My brain came up with bloody door. I knew immediately that I hadn’t read it right, but that didn’t stop the creative side of my brain. Didn’t even slow it down. Instead, that bloody door quickly turned into an image of a door with a hand shape sunken into the middle and the idea that blood was involved in opening it.

The next thing I knew, this plot bunny was racing at top speed, and growing horns and claws and silky feathers. I’m not even sure it’s a bunny anymore, really. But it’s definitely something and today it continued racing. I have a feeling it will tomorrow too. I certainly hope so, because omg, it’s exciting. I forgot the way some ideas could make your heart pound and your blood rush as they reveal themselves to you.

This idea is currently in the early notes stage, but I can feel the bones of the story and my two main characters spinning themselves rapidly into being. There are already twists in the growing relationship, history and world I didn’t expect. I don’t think it’ll be long before they start speaking to me with their own voices (no, not hearing voices in my head like a crazy person). This one is begging to be told. Not that it’s the only one begging, but damn, this one is LOUD.

And all this from simply misreading something. I’ve done that before, on a number of occasions, in fact. Probably a quarter of my very long list of story ideas has come from misreading. They lead me to some interesting places and characters. Because of this, I’ve learned to at least listen when my brain pops up something other than what the text says. Experience says there may be something there.

And I’ve never been one to say no to inspiration when it whispers in my ear. :)

~ by Julie on February 12, 2014.

8 Responses to “The Art of Misreading”

  1. I love the term plot bunny. Definitely adding that to my vocabulary! :)

  2. I can totally picture that fluffy, friendly plot bunny bouncing happily away and as you try to chase it down it reveals pieces of the story you didn’t expect and transforms into a monster bunny that you are now trying to tackle. Sounds like fun! :)

  3. Didn’t have a heart attack. Just this Bell’s Palsy. Post again and I’ll probably need to be cremated.

    • Uh oh. Can’t have that. You’re probably safe though. I think I’m out of ideas for posts for the next bit. But be careful, you know, just in case. Is there such a thing as blog-post bunnies?

  4. Lol @ plot bunny. Mine spring out at me all the time. I’m sure my Muse follows me around, stroking the bunny she’s cradling in her arms that day – before she flings it at me without warning.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,215 other followers

