Embarrassment of Riches

Okay, I’ve been promising myself (and others) that I was going to do an awards post for a while now, so I’m going to restrain my enthusiasm for Sunday’s numbers and other things long enough to get this in.  Anticipation is good for me anyway, and I’ll have today’s numbers to report as well.

I have to say, I’m a little amazed at how these have piled up while I was busy writing. I meant to post each one in a more timely manner than I’ve done, and I beg forgiveness, hoping that one day you’ll read what I’m writing and decide it was worth the award post waiting in order to get that.  I can dream.

I’m blessed with some very excellent followers who, from time to time, share with me the awards they have themselves received.  I find these a huge boost, because like most people, I love to find out that I touch people with my words.  As a writer, that’s a big deal, but even as a human being in general, being acknowledged and recognized by others is a wonderful thing.  It can make any day better than it was before you got that.

In that spirit, I’d like to thank the following people:

Shannon M. Howell for the ABC Award

Quix689 for the Booker Award

And Gabriellan for the Kreative Blogger Award

While there are a bunch of rules that come with each one of these, I’m going to make things simple and follow my own.  Yes, that’s cheating.  I’m aware of that, and I’m okay with that.  I am going to share my favourite books (Booker rules) because I love to share a good book, or more.

  1. Songs of Ice and Fire Series – George RR Martin (better known by most as Game of Thrones)
  2. The Mistborn Trilogy – Brandon Sanderson
  3. The Lighthouse Duet – Carol Berg (anything of hers is awesome, but I have a particular love of this pair)
  4. The Mummy – Anne Rice
  5. Archangel – Sharon Shinn

So, those are a few of my favourites. By no means is this an exhaustive list, but Devan beckons, and so I shall have to stick to the point here. Trust me, I have no resistance when Devan wants something at the moment. He’s just too wonderful to resist, or even want to resist. I am not going through the trivia about me for the ABC award, because, well, I don’t want to and that would take too long. Also, I firmly maintain that my writing is more interesting than I am myself, insanity totally notwithstanding. :D

For my nominations, I’m going to select a fairly random number of people.  Accept the awards you want to or don’t already have and do with them as you like.  I just wanted to share you.

R.K. MacPherson

Tanya Spencer

Emily

Peggy Isaacs

Jennifer M Eaton

So, there’s a few of the people I follow who have book oriented blogs (the guidance given by the Booker, the only one to make specific requirements for nominations).  Enjoy.  My regular blathering about my own writing will continue as per usual tomorrow. :) In the meantime, as I said, Devan requires my attention.

~ by Julie on June 11, 2012.

15 Responses to “Embarrassment of Riches”

  1. While I can’t speak for anyone, I’m fairly positive most of us would rather know that you were busy writing than that you were wasting time trying to follow a list of rules put forth by some award. :) Happy writing and congrats on all the awards!

  2. The rules are often overwhelming. I can play more easily when they’re simple. Otherwise, begin cheat mode! :)

    Congratulations, whether you cheat or not—they’re well-deserved. :)

    • Thanks! And I think in this case, cheating was partly about saving my sanity too. I don’t think I could have kept track of it all. It’s hard once you’re doing more than one award at a time.

  3. Very kind of you to list me, Julie. I appreciate it!

  4. Awe, thank you very much for thinking of me. I really appreciate it. Never heard of the Booker award. I guess I’ll scoop that one up.

  5. Congrats on the awards. You are not the only of late who has dissed the rules, so you are in fine company. A blurb about yourself here and there is totally satisfactory to me. I have never seen the booker award before, that’s pretty durn cool.

    • Thanks. I thought The Booker was pretty neat. I like the writing/book related ones. That one stipulated only those that are 50% or more about writing or books. It’s nice to have the theme to work with.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,151 other followers

